We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star until breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“5 star until breakfast”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Staying in Doubletrees can be hit or miss. This stay was definitely a hit until breakfast.

I was greeted by two very friendly front desk clerks late at night on 25 Nov 2013. These two gentleman were very courteous and professional. I got my delicious warm doubletree cookie and was informed I was upgraded to a junior suite because of my HHonors membership.

My room was spacious, clean and modern. I slept comfortably all night long and had a nice bed and linens.

In the morning, I was thinking how much I enjoyed my stay and then I got breakfast. Pasteurized egg product from a carton? Some unidentifiable square meat like products? Let's just say I stuck with the fruit and yogurt from the buffet. I eat at a hotel breakfast buffet a few times a week and this buffet just wasn't up to par. After being so thrilled with the service and room, I was really looking forward to a nice cup of coffee and an omelet.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ring0rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    195
    69
    43
    19
See reviews for
185
126
48
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King George, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I booked at this hotel due to the location to my son's soccer tournement fields. It was very comfortable, gave us all the amenities, and the staff was very helpful. The bar provided the parents a good meeting location while waiting for the kids to get ready for dinner; and the lobby area provided adequate waiting areas for the rest of our group.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Great staff, clean rooms, However....... families beware, especially those with girls: the indoor pool is flanked with rooms --My daughter and her friend found themselves being ogled as they took a swim...eeewwww!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, United States
Level Contributor
128 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was clean hotel though seemed a bit dated. The rooms we clean and the bedding was very comfortable. Room service was very good. Breakfast service was ok. It was easy to get to from the highway and a few miles from a large mall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrettsville, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels and this one was a pleasure! The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the pillows were excellent. The spotless bathroom had unusually high quality toiletries and plenty of towels. All the light bulbs worked. There were plenty of easily accessible electrical outlets. The heat and ac both worked and were actually QUIET! The staff was courteous and helpful and handed me a warm chocolate chip cookie at check in. I would DEFINITELY choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Erika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great service, sexy rooms with comfy beds AND a cookie?? I'm a fan of this DoubleTree. The only thing I'm not a fan of is the breakfast served at Morgan's. The service was excellent, and although I appreciated the turkey option for the sausage, the food was not good. Even the bagels. Opt for the omelet made to order, the oatmeal and fruit and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Millicent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

First time at one of these hotels, the experience was magnificent. At the front desk we were greeted very nicely and even gave us cookies, super friendly and attentive.The rooms were beautiful, super large well decorated and complete Wonderful hotel, we love it! we'll return to this hotel on a next holiday. Totally recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sol Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
#9 of 12 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Address: 5485 Twin Knolls Rd, Columbia, MD 21045-3247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, an upscale suburban Maryland hotel in a park-like setting only 20 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Our Columbia, MD hotel is ideal for for business or leisure travel to the Baltimore, Washington D.C. and Annapolis areas. Guest enjoy amenities that include a 24 hour business center, 24 hour fitness center, complementary WiFi and wired internet access. Start your day with our DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet and wrap it up with dinner and a drink at Morgan's Restaurant & Lounge, our on-site restaurant. And as always, your visit will be welcomed with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Hotel
Hilton Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing