We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the Price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good value for the Price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is a relatively cheap hotel with the Hilton brand. Nice lounge, friendly staff. Rooms are clean yet dated. It's an older, renovated hotel. Not an original Doubletree. Still, can't beat the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for the candid review of my hotel. We are thrilled with the results of our multi-million dollar renovation that was completed last year. My staff and I look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    159
    56
    39
    17
See reviews for
147
109
43
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The front desk was great and check in was no problem at all. It was really fast and the cookie is always warm and good. You can even buy them if you ever have a craving again.

Room was clean, internet fast, bed was comfy.

No problems and no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 671RC671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
As the General Manager, it makes me very happy when guests have a relaxing and uneventful stay at my hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with everyone else. I am looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is the best hotel in Columbia, MD; I rest so well, the beds are sooooo comfortable, services were excellent, food delicious and the security and comfort was out of this world. The prices are so affordable, I felt like a queen or a superstar! And yes the infamous warm cookies they serve you upon your arrival is definitely awesome! I treated myself to the instant weekend getaway, what a treat that includes a complimentary bottle of champagne, late check out and breakfast for such a low price. I plan to return soon and I highly recommend this hotel to all, life too short, enjoy the Double Tree!

Room Tip: Suites are so worth the price, huge and complimentary taste!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeaJ547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear TeaJ547,
Thank you for such a nice review. Your response is what we strive for everyday. Come back and see us again soon. Some more warm cookies will be waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spent two nights at the Double Tree while on business, the rooms were very clean and the staff was very helpful meeting our needs.

In addition to staying overnight we also used their meeting rooms and shuttle for dinner events.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesse1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Jesse1314,
Thank you very much for the kind words about the hotel and especially about my staff. We try very hard to give every guest a great experience. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel was extremely noisy. We could hear everything in the hallway, next door, and across the hall. We hardly slept. On the other hand, the rooms are nice and spacious. The lobby is elegant, and the staff are responsive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kawi475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Kawi475,
Thank you for giving me your thoughts and impressions of my hotel. Your thoughts on the noise in my hotel are very troubleing to me. We had already started to work on two different solutions to fix the noise issue. Both solutions will be in place by early summer and will help that issue. I am sorry that your stay was not a good one and I hope you give us another chance the next time you are in town.
Gary Gustafson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Ohio
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our two day stay was not a very good experience. Room given away even though we got there right at check in time. When we did get a room the heating/airconditioning unit was not working correctly. No other rooms were available to to being sold out that weekend. .. The up side to our stay was the staff. They were very kind and caring, and tried their best to make us as comfortable as possible

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary_Gustafson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Melanie R,
Thank you for the kind words about my staff. We try very hard to make each and every guests stay a wonderful experience. I am very sorry that your stay was not up to your or my expectations. We made a mistake in booking the room type you requested and I apologize for that. On top of that, the HVAC system did not work properly. I hope that the next time you come back, we can provide an experience that meets your expectations.
Gary Gustafson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Full time business traveler: I read some of the other reviews and had a modest amount of concern about staying here. However, the newer reviews painted a much better picture and I opted for this location. I recommend disregarding older reviews as they don't seem to apply to the hotel as I experienced it. Doubletree Columbia is a nice hotel with overall nice decor. The 4 floor building from the outside is nothing to write home about but it certainly is not unappealing. Inside the lounge area is large and is newly decorated very nicely. I do see a few remnants of the pre-refurbished hotel in some spots but this is definitely not something that stood out as unattractive or gave me pause at all.
The room had a definite new-ish feel to it with a very comfortable bed (good pillows!), good audio/video (not a huge selection of channels though), good amount of room space, a fair amount of work space area/desk in the room and something I personally appreciate is ample power outlets at the desk and on the nights stands. The environmental controls and performance was very good. It has a very nice indoor pool/hot tub area. Parking is fairly ample. Staff was friendly and professional. The on site restaurant had a fairly nice appearance (note, I did not eat there though).
There is nothing even close to within walking distance (the hotel is tucked away from anything in what I would describe as a green business park) but there is Walgreens just around the corner (I guess you could walk there in 10 minutes). There is a nice mall at or under 10 minutes drive away. It has close, convenient freeway access (but did not have 'freeway noise' issues).
I do not have anything bad to say about the Doubletree Columbia. I don't give 5 stars except for a place that stands out as superb. While it is not the finest hotel you will ever walk into and some of the hallways had the feel of being a bit dated, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone. It is well in the ranks of the better Doubletrees I have stayed at (and I have stayed at many).

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have one window that overlooks the indoor pool/hot tub. An interesting perspective...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank All-Fifty-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#3 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
1.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
#9 of 12 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Address: 5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, an upscale suburban Maryland hotel in a park-like setting only 20 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Our Columbia, MD hotel is ideal for for business or leisure travel to the Baltimore, Washington D.C. and Annapolis areas. Guest enjoy amenities that include a 24 hour business center, 24 hour fitness center, complementary WiFi and wired internet access. Start your day with our DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet and wrap it up with dinner and a drink at Morgan's Restaurant & Lounge, our on-site restaurant. And as always, your visit will be welcomed with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Hotel
Hilton Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing