We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay. Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
388 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay. Good value”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were visiting family in Columbia and this hotel was a good choice to stay. The value was very good.
The rooms are comfortable. A/C a little noisy. Our room overlooked the central lobby. This was good as there was no noise from the rock concert at the nearby Merriweather Post Pavilion.
The staff was helpful and friendly. The lounge and restaurant (for breakfast) were very good value with friendly staff as well.
The central lobby was a good place to meet with the family as we came and went.
All in all, a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If there's a "loud" concert at the nearby Merriweather Post Pavilion, ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_from_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    187
    68
    42
    19
See reviews for
179
122
48
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabun Gap, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We recently spent a long weekend at the Doubletree by Hilton and were pleased with every aspect of it. The property is a little secluded, and consequently quiet, but it is also handy to the freeways for easy access to Baltimore, Annapolis, and the Maryland suburbs of DC. The room was spacious, well maintained and well appointed, and the staff was friendly and solicitous The recent remodeling is evident throughout the hotel. The breakfast was quite good, although a little pricey for the buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

In town for a concert and everything went great. Service, rooms, lounge, shuttle service....all excellent. They understand customer service and cleanliness, which are most important in my opinion. Things like fresh cookies are an added bonus. We paid a bit more to stay here, but it was totally worth it. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleItalianGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Reserved a room for one night for a concert at the local Merriweather Post Pavilion. We were extremely happy with our choice. The Hotel is located just off the highway on a quiet sort of secluded road. We were greeted by a friendly staff in a nicely decorated lobby, received a delicious warm cookie which was a treat after sitting through lunch on the beltway for three hours (what should have been an hour trip). We got a King Room and it was a lovely, clean room, spacious enough for the two of us. There is not much more than a bank and a Walgreens local to the hotel but we found a Food Lion two miles down the residential street. Got showered and dressed and went to the lobby to catch the shuttle. The shuttle runs every half hour they dropped us off just across the street from Merriweather and they were there to pick us up right after the concert. We had a fantastic, stress-free time knowing we would not have to do any driving and will definitely do it again, we have already recommended the hotel to a friend and a family member for concerts in Columbia. Trying to think of any downsides to the place but hard-pressed to come up with anything significant. The drapery in the hotel is just for decoration and does not close, I would have liked to have slept in a bit more but the sun was shining in my face at 6:30 AM and there was no way to block it out. There are "inner" rooms that overlook the lobby rather than the outdoors, I may request one of those next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBStar69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Everybody here at the hotel is thrilled by your review. We are taking great pride in the results of our renovation and are very proud that our guests are liking it also. On your next visit, if you have any problems with the room or its features, please contact our Front Desk and they will help you with anything you need. Thank you for speaking so highly of us and I am happy that you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are well appointed. Business office was well equipped. Breakfast was exceptional, buffet and cook to order. Friendly staff throughout hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My friend and I recently traveled to Baltimore for a festival. The original hotel we booked ended up being a roach motel and our day of traveling had been a disaster. I found this hotel on trip advisor, called them, and not only did they have a great price and were close to where we needed to be. . .they were AMAZING. We walk in, they are friendly, kind, ask about our day, listen empathetically, and offer us warm cookies. Seriously, I wanted to hug them.

We got to our room and it was perfect, comfortable, and exactly what we needed. The beds felt luxurious with faux down comforters and lots of fluffy pillows. We had cookies every time we came in or went out of the hotel (can you tell they were good?). The staff did everything they could to make us comfortable and happy. The hotel was newly renovated and looked great. We also ordered room service and had breakfast at the restaurant; it too was wonderful, though breakfast was a bit pricey. I will defiantly be staying at this hotel and sister hotels in the future. It totally turned the momentum of our trip around and made it perfect!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NashvilleBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Rather than wake up at an unreasonable hour to be somewhere in Columbia, 2 ½ - 4 ¼ hours from our homes, at 9:00am we opted to stay local overnight. My parents took care of the arrangements booking 3 rooms for the 10 of us so all I knew was to pack my swim suit as they had a pool.

Was a little concerned when our GPS told us that we had arrived at our destination and all I saw was a Walgreens and a corporate business centre; however, driving a little farther down the road we came across the entrance sign for the Doubletree. I really liked how the hotel was not right off the highway, it gave a nice quiet secluded feeling which is important, especially the quiet part, when one wants a good night rest.

Walking into the lobby I thought I was walking into one of those posh expensive hotels I stay at for work, like the Le Meridian. We were promptly greeted with a friendly smile by the front desk clerk Barry. He checked us in seamlessly and offered us warm chocolate chip walnut cookies.

I thought the cookies were a nice touch as we were on the road over the dinner hour and were a little hungry, plus to me the cookies were there in lieu of a mint on the pillow at turn down.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Doubletree and would stay here again when visiting the family. The staff was pleasant and professional; the rooms were clean and provided comfortable beds; the pool area was clean, inviting and safe; and the bar/restaurant was both convenient and reasonably priced.

My only suggestion would be to offer more typical bar food items on the menu. We were interested in munching a little that evening but aside from 4 different types of flavored wings and a chicken quesadilla the other options on the bar menu for formal dinner items.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j9sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
#9 of 12 in Columbia
179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Address: 5485 Twin Knolls Road, Columbia, MD 21045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, an upscale suburban Maryland hotel in a park-like setting only 20 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Our Columbia, MD hotel is ideal for for business or leisure travel to the Baltimore, Washington D.C. and Annapolis areas. Guest enjoy amenities that include a 24 hour business center, 24 hour fitness center, complementary WiFi and wired internet access. Start your day with our DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet and wrap it up with dinner and a drink at Morgan's Restaurant & Lounge, our on-site restaurant. And as always, your visit will be welcomed with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Hotel
Hilton Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing