We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveler rating
407
224
85
51
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
224
85
51
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble treecookiesfront deskgreat hotelrestaurant staffshuttle servicetucked awaybreakfast buffetfitness centerbusiness tripbed was very comfortablelobbymdatriumwalgreensweddingconcert
Filter
Updating list...
709 - 714 of 797 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Booked this hotel last minute: decided to get a hotel so we wouldn't have to worry about driving back home after a concert at Merriweather. When we pulled up, we found what looked to be a dated, old hotel. Upon walking in: a beautifully remodeled and modern hotel. Everything was extremely clean and fresh. The hotel had a free shuttle to and from Merriweather, as well. Will always stay here when coming to the area for a concert.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with windows facing outside, not the lobby.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend visit with family in Columbia. Nice clean facility, well maintained. Not many restaurants or facilities adjacent to the hotel, so be prepared to drive if you need anything. Had the breakfast buffet in the restaurant three times during our stay. Very good value for the price. Room was well appointed, bed comfortable, no glaring problems. Wished they had two comfortable chairs in the room so two of us could watch TV, but other than that - really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jclark12020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This used to be a Hilton, the new owners
Have updated the rooms and other parts of the hotel all in all a very nice hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ptk21044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We were booked into this property for two nights, presenting seminars on back-to-back days. As frequent travelers, we always call the property before we arrive with our short list of "special requests."
We ask for:
1) A smoking room; if the facility is non-smoking, then we ask for a room with a balcony or patio; if those are not available, we ask for a room either near an elevator or near an exit (on the ground floor).
2) A late checkout for our last day- 1:00 p.m. As we send our seminar attendees to take their lunch, we return to our sleeping room for a quick bite and chance to collect our suitcases.
3) A complimentary ensuite microwave and refrigerator. While one of our party does smoke, she does not smoke around the other party (a person with a heart condition.) Due to the heart condition, that other person has specific dietary requirements.

We did call 17 days before arriving, and spoke with "Barry." He noted all our requests and then stated: "We are undergoing floor-by-floor renovations. The hotel has only 3 smoking rooms- all on the 4th floor. When you arrive, there is a possibility that the fourth floor will be undergoing renovation. If that happens, we will get you to one of the other possible acceptable room types. Would it be too much for you to call and reconfirm, say, a day or two before you arrive? We can give you an update then."

Very professional, very respectful. We told Barry that we would indeed call again before coming. He even stated: "I hope I am here when you arrive." Again, very nice.

We did call two days before arriving, and spoke with "Anna". She reconfirmed everything, and even told us the room where we would be staying (460) and placed a "do not move" notification on the room. Once again, very professional and respectful. Nicely done!

Upon arrival, we were met by Jamal. He said: "But we were expecting you about 2 hours ago! Everything is as you have requested." He not only handled our check-in promptly and completely, but also offered a very dry and quite appreciated sense of humor. This made our day.

When we came into the room, we did note that there were no ashtrays (we asked the housekeeping staff for some and they were brought promptly) and that the microwave/refrigerator was not in the room. We called Jamal and he caused these to be brought to the room immediately.

The heating unit was doing some rally funky stuff, "clicking" like it was trying to cycle. It was not functioning to provide heat or cool. Again, a quick call to Jamal and his maintenance professional, "Bob" appeared within minutes.

This room had recently bee renovated, and the sensing unit on the wall (battery operated) was trying to synch with the unit (wired). Bob just took the batteries out of the wall unit and the problem was solved! Bob even spoke with us about the Maryland crabs.

One of our party did go down to the seminar room the night before just to scope out the room, look for exits, etc. Upon opening one of the doors leading from the seminar room to the "employee only" hallway (looking for emergency exits) yet another staff member, another "Barry" asked if he could help in any way.

We did not eat at Morgans (on-site restaurant) but several of our attendees did. The attendees said the food was good, reasonably priced, and well worth the money. The banquets folks brought in "pre-order" menus to the seminar for our attendees so that the food would be ready exactly at the lunch break.

For this stay, the Business Center had construction equipment inside, so the "business center" computers, printers, etc. were behind the bar in Morgans, but quite accessible. (Jamal had mentioned that for a while during the renovation the check-in area had also been temporarily located behind the bar,)

The renovation was progressing nicely; we had no significant construction noises during our sleeping hours or during the seminar. This place has spent a ton of money on new carpets and padding, and truly it was like walking on clouds.

Cellphone strength was a small issue in the seminar rooms- to get a good signal we had to go out to the foyer (we have Sprint.)

The lane to the hotel is a good one, well-lit at night, but a little tricky to find. Use a good map program or a GPS. Parking (free) is plentiful. There are several places to eat within a mile or two of this property.

We did not use the pool (quite pretty) or the exercise equipment; the beds were really comfortable. TV channels were sufficient, not extensive.

All in all, truly these people know what they are doing, and how to take care of business travelers.

It will be a pleasure to return.

Room Tip: the smoking rooms are quite a ways away from the elevators.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbaraandThoma... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Our sales team of 5 stayed here during a training week at a near by facility. Yes, the property was under renovations and only 2 floors of guest rooms were available. HOWEVER, we experienced no inconvenience what so ever. The staff was terrific. They arranged for their courtesy van to shuttle us to training and also drop & pick up at local restaurants for dinner with warm cookies in our van. Our rooms were very clean and serviced well. This hotel is great value for the money and the staff from barmen to housekeeping were wonderful to us. I'm sure it will be the best value in the area once renovations are completed. Our sales team is in the hotel industry (staff here were not aware of this) so we're super critical of competitive hotel chains and aren't generous with compliments. In the case of Doubletree Columbia - we loved the property & staff and will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharterHotelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews