We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-Priced Needs Update and Staff Training - Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Immediately, upon check-in last night we were not greeted at the front desk because the clerk was on the phone with a non-business phone call. He acted as though we were disturbing him when he ended his call. Sorry dude - I'll take professionalism over warm cookies any day. He lied to us and said the suite we had reserved was not available because they were all under repair. He also said that he did not see our request for a suite in the reservation system. Checked with another clerk later before diner and got our suite.

Diner last night was not too bad because the lights were low - chewy, bland steak. Clearly the bartender did not understand a "neat" scotch.

This morning the "free" breakfast was weak and bland - everything tasted wrong. Syrup was like molasses, sausage was gummy and stuck to my teeth and the selection was poor. Then came the worst of the stay. At the end of breakfast, a roach crawled across the table. We alerted the hostess/lady bussing tables and she gave the look like "they live here..." and asked if we would like another table - no thank you!

As others have said the hotel is in need of updating/renovations. Cracks in walls, ceilings old fixtures etc. There is free internet which is rare in today's times. The bedding was comfortable. The shower head worked well. Prices are on par with much nicer hotels. Overall: AVOID!!!

Room Tip: Tip? Try Marriott or Sheraton properties. For the price it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cbelljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

679 - 685 of 757 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

This place is a nice property, though with just a very slightly worn look 'around the edges'. The lobby is really nice with an interior courtyard and glass elevators. I got a nice warm cookie at check in. The pool and hot tub looked very nice, but were closed for maintenance. The bed was very comfy with good pillows and the bathroom amenities were good. The TV was an older tube model, but I actually prefer them to the newer 'high-def' ones. The restaurant looked pretty nice, but was empty.

All in all, I like the hotel and will stay here again when back in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I've stayed here two times, both to attend concerts at Merriweather Post Pavilion. The lobby is pretty, with two big skylights and a huge lounge area. They have a small-ish indoor pool and jacuzzi which are great for soaking away your hangover :) There's also a restaurant/bar, but I've never been in it since it seems to close down by 9 or 10. Breakfast is not included, and the buffet is about $14pp, but it's not bad.
I've stayed in a standard room and a jr. suite, and both were fine. Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries are a nice touch. The jr. suite does have a mini-fridge and microwave if you need that, but simple things are missing that a suite really should just have; like more than 2 glasses/mugs, a phone & radio in each 'room' of the suite, and other little upgrades to justify the added cost (bottled waters, bathrobes, etc.)
One other point of contention with this hotel is the extremely limited channel selection on the TV. I think you get like 15 channels? Weird.
But overall I've enjoyed my stay, the biggest bonus here is the FREE shuttle that takes you in a 5 mile radius. They'll take you anywhere you need to go in that area, and drop off & pick up to Merriweather.

Room Tip: If you want an actual window to the outside world, specify upon booking - half the rooms have window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GrapeJade8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Older hotel, older rooms, older fixtures.. a little further off the main highway. But you get a warm cookie at check-in.

The staff was friendly and we felt welcome there, but it definitely needs to be updated!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wideawake02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We booked this hotel for two nights while we were in town for a festival at Merriweather Post Pavilion. It is tucked away in a quiet, wooded area that may be difficult to find if you aren't paying attention. We checked in quickly around 11pm the first night, received our keys and our cookies and headed up to our room. Luckily we got two keys because one would not work. We booked a junior king suite which was spacious but had an unusual layout. You entered the bedroom area upon opening the door and there was a couch and office area in the back of the room that was separated by sliding white doors. I was expecting something a little different, but it was fine for our purposes. The room seemed clean on the surface but my wife's allergies could tell that the room was quite dusty. I am a frequent traveler and know that hotel rooms are notorious for having paper thin walls, but this hotel seemed to have the thinnest of them all. I could hear every word that was spoken in the room next door. Luckily, they weren't talking all night long. The bed was adequately comfortable and I got a good night's sleep both nights that we stayed here. Don't expect to get any food in Columbia after midnight unless you want McDonald's or Wendy's drive-thru. We got back from the concert on the second night and the hotel bar had stopped serving food, the pizza delivery people had stopped taking orders and there is nowhere else that is withing walking distance. We had left our car at the pavilion and opted for a cab back to the hotel. We were safe, but starving. I would stay at this hotel again, but only if my favorite in Columbia was sold out.

Room Tip: Unless you need a separate office, don't upgrade to the junior suite. Bring food with you if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed one night. The hotel had a nice design, with inside rooms looking down onto Atriul area and pool. That's the best I can say. The curtains were soiled and worse, the little "Sweet Dreams" pillow on the bed was filthy, with what looked like drool and food stains (I hope). And don't even bother with the restaurant....

Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank bandb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Arrived an no one to greet and help with luggage, Desk clerk Barry was new and we had to ask for the cookies. Keys did not work for the room went back and got new keys, Only one worked once, Got luggage in room at the same time Barry #2 (older and wiser) showed up to make sure we got in room. Room had no luggage rack went to desk to report the 2nd set of keys not working correctly and request luggage rack. Acted surprised and said some rooms do not have them but would find one for us. Got another set of keys which worked on again off again. Took about 3-4 mins to get in room.
Checked out early and had breakfast in town as we did not want to fight the key problem again by eating there and then getting our luggage and checking out. This is not like the other Doubletrees we have stayed in. Certainly is equal to a Super 8 establishment

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clyde030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
#8 of 12 in Columbia
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia

Address: 5485 Twin Knolls Rd, Columbia, MD 21045-3247
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Columbia
#5 Business Hotel in Columbia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $98 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Columbia, an upscale suburban Maryland hotel in a park-like setting only 20 minutes from Baltimore's Inner Harbor. Our Columbia, MD hotel is ideal for for business or leisure travel to the Baltimore, Washington D.C. and Annapolis areas. Guest enjoy amenities that include a 24 hour business center, 24 hour fitness center, complementary WiFi and wired internet access. Start your day with our DoubleTree Breakfast Buffet and wrap it up with dinner and a drink at Morgan's Restaurant & Lounge, our on-site restaurant. And as always, your visit will be welcomed with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Hotel
Hilton Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing