We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old haunt”

Hickory Ridge Grill
Ranked #27 of 261 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An old haunt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Been here many times with friends and family. Just a good comfortable family restaurant

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoeHaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    30
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mediterranean fare done well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

There's a variety of salads, sandwiches, and entrees at this local eatery that keep diners coming back. Excellent Greek specialties, plus Italian, are part of the mix. Prices are good. The place gets crowded at dinner time, and a combination of glass windows and tile floors plus close-together tables can make noise an issue.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank HospitalitySeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
md
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We dine here monthly and have never had a bad experience. The food is excellent, my husband gets the gyro every time and i usually get the greek salad or salmon. I wish the tables were not so close together but its not that big of a deal.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mumbles30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of those hidden secrets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

Another reviewer called it a great neighborhood gem - to which I totally agree. In fact I don't even live near this neighborhood but will go out of my way to go there.

This is a family owned restaurant, the owners are a Greek-American couple, and the husband is the chef. With that in mind - get the Greek styled food - but even better go with the specials. Although the menu consists of a lot of neighborhood restaurant type of items, you will do well to ignore those and go with the good dinners - they often offer scallops, salmon, lamb - cooked well with individual attention. These are the kind of dishes that are a huge cut above the usual neighborhood fare.

We were introduced to this restaurant by friends, and since then we've been coming back often. However - on my own - I probably wouldn't even have given it a second thought as it looks from the outside like a typical quick bite kind of place. Not so - proves the old saying - not to judge a book by its cover.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flamencodancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Love this place. The owner is very friendly and the food is great. Please support this neighborhood gem!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RyanC78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Ridge Grill also viewed

 

Been to Hickory Ridge Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing