We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent kabob rolls” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maiwande Kabob

Maiwande Kabob
Ranked #36 of 258 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Afghani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent kabob rolls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

One of the best kabob rolls I have ever had. I had chicken tikka and beef rolls, they were not too spicy.the price was also reasonable.

Helpful?
1 Thank snowymtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good take out food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I discovered this place last year, and have enjoyed it for take out food. I like the veggie platter, but the lamb and chicken are also good. The past few times I've eaten the food it has been too spicy for me. I don't know if they have made it spicier or what. If they could tone down on the hot spices, I would enjoy it more.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kaysandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Little Gem: Don't judge by the cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

This place looks like a little corner eatery until when you step in and you realize that they make some of the best ethnic foods. we got there at 622pm ordered our food and we were called to get it withing 20mins.

The Good:
Ample Parking
-Fresh Food
-Generous Portions
-The price is right
-Very Delicious Food

The Not so Good:
-Small dining area
-Awkwardly placed TV
-Can get Crowded with people lining up between the tables to pick their orders
-No servers to bring your food so you will have to be attentive to hear your number when its called.

Final Verdict:
-Order your food and take it with you, especially during the busy time (evening, midday)
-Great food and great value

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sulphide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Wow, I saw this restaurant a few times and wandered in for lunch one day out of curiosity. I was surprised and satisfied.

I ordered the chicken tikka. The portion was very large. The chicken was very tender and tasty, the salad fair, the rice had raisins in it (a pleasant discovery), and the naan bread was soft and fresh. The meal cost about $10.00.

o The website is at http://maiwandkabob.com. It lists the menu, prices, and location.
o The restaurant decor is very trendy. There are tables and a few booths in semi-private 'room's.
o I believe the sign said "counter service 11am-4pm". I assume that there is waitstaff in the evenings.
o Plenty of parking.
o Looking at the prices I feel they are very reasonable compared to the size of the portions. If you don't eat very much and don't take your leftovers home you may be disappointed.
o Don't be fooled because it's in the Columbia version of a strip mall.

I really look forward to coming back and trying this place again.

(I don't understand why tripadvisor has to put 'bar scene' on the ratings. There is no bar.)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RimantasG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
234 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“New location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Maiwand Kabob recently opened a new location at 6131 Columbia Crossing Circle. We visited it there tonight. This is in the shopping center with a Target and a Big Lots. It is a little bit hidden, down towards where Sleepys is located.

The food was the same high quality as at the other location we have visited in the Harpers Choice village center. The decor and service was upscale -- real plates instead of plastic and the food was brought to your table. Very clean and pleasant.

One dish this time were a chicken Malai -- just as good as the last time at the other place. Very tender and flavorful. The other dish was the special of the day --a lamb do piaza which is lamb meat with onions, tomatoe, vinegar and spices.

We had a pleasant conversation with the manager and learned that they have a total of four locations now -- all run by the same family. The other two are in Linthicum and at Arundel Mills.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maiwande Kabob also viewed

 

Been to Maiwande Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing