We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great food at great prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Bella Ristorante

Luna Bella Ristorante
Ranked #6 of 252 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Based on other reviews my husband and I decided to try Luna Bella for a birthday dinner celebration for my daughter. We were greeted by two very friendly hostesses and led to our table by the window (don't expect a view because the restaurant is in a shopping center). Our server was Seamus and he was training another lady, though in all honesty she either has never had service experience or was just awful but that did not hamper the evening at all. They have a price fixed menu but none of us chose that option and they also have select bottles of wine at 1/2 price. My husband and I enjoyed the orecchiette soup which though a little salty was very very good. My step daughter loves gnocchi so she opted for the gnocchi with tomato sauce and it was served with a mozzarella topping and she said it was very good. Her boyfriend had the chicken Parmesan and that was a lovely presentation of pasta on one side of the plate and the breaded chicken breast topped with marinara sauce and mozzarella and judging by the empty plate at the end would say he enjoyed it. My husband had the chicken cacciatore and it was a huge portion and thought it was great and enjoyed the price which was about $17. I loved the salmon piccata which was priced at $18 and came served with penne pasta and broccoli and carrots. Desserts of banana creme brûlée, Jewish apple cake ala mode and lemon bar were enjoyed at the table. After it all we decided we would visit again because it was such a great evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Letsgo410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    51
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Radnor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

In town for hockey with my wife and two sons, we were looking for a nice place for casual dinner. Found Luna Bella ranked 3rd on Tripadvisor. Reviews showed all 4 and 5 stars except one 3 star review. So off we went for the 15 minute drive to Luna Bella.

Real good bread but not "great". Olive oil and garlic were good.

For an app, we had the Fried Mozzarella, fantastic. Real cheese slices, not little sticks, better than expected.

For dinner the boys had cheese pizza and raviolis from the kids menu which were very good, especially the raviolis.

I had the Chicken Luna Bella, chicken breast with blackening spice tossed with tri-colored
cheese filled tortellini in a creamy pesto, tomato sauce. It was awesome, chicken was perfect. Little spicy kick. Went great with my BASS beer.

My wife had the Veggie Portabella sandwich, it was delicious.

Dessert was also perfect, Key Lime pie, Creme Brulee and Mango sorbet. All were excellent.

Service was the best I've had in some time, perfect timing, no delays but not too fast either.

Don't hesitate to head over if you are undecided, its worth the trip. We might go back in 2 days when we return to the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cozy Neighborhood Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Charming little restaurant hidden in a shopping center. Easy parking, attentive service, limited menu, but the food was good. New prix fix menu which includes a salad or soup, choice of several entress (the mussels were good and plentiful), and a mini cannoli or sorbet for only $18--good Sunday through Thursday.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The challenge to find it is worth the effort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Three of my former professional associates and I have been friends for many years, and with two being retirees (and two semi-retired), we make it a point to get together for lunch about every three months. We each take turns selecting the venue, and today's lunch was scheduled at Luna Bella in Columbia, MD. I knew the general area where it is, but I had never been there. The address was in one of Columbia's many small, neighborhood shopping areas, but I had to drive around a couple times before I spotted the address and then the front door of the restaurant. Our group of four arrived at about the same time, and we were seated immediately, even though it was at the height of the lunch hour. It will come as no surprise to anyone that this is an Italian establishment, but it's certainly not run-of-the-mill. The lunch menu is quite large and varied, with meat, seafood, and vegetarian dishes available. As all of us had meetings or appointments later in the afternoon, so we opted for either iced tea or water to drink. When three of us chose the eggplant parmesan and the fourth selected lasagna, the server informed us that a salad and unlimited bread were included. This bountiful offering (not including the drinks) came for $7.50 each. The food was delicious! The bread was baked on site, and the salads were of three varieties: house, Caesar, and Greek, and they were by no means skimpy. In our group, we ordered two Greek salads, one Caesar, and one house, and all of us enjoyed them. The entrees were exemplary.

Even though this place is about 25 miles from our residence, it's definitely on my list for future visits.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank billybosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value for good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

An interesting menu, reasonable and satisfying. Service good but spotty at times. Can be crowded but that speaks to the fact that people enjoy coming. Love the mussels.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Bella Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Luna Bella Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing