We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come here for coffee!”
Review of Mad City Coffee

Mad City Coffee
Ranked #1 of 13 Coffee & Tea in Columbia
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Come here for coffee!”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great, local coffee shop.. They roast their own beans and you'll never get a burnt cup of coffee like you do at Starbucks. They have light breakfast and lunch fare, but that's just average. You come here to pick up coffee or to hang out over coffee with a friend. Free wifi is nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank novicetravellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good coffee place”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

A nice place to stop in for a hot drink, and maybe a sandwich. Internet wifi available. If you are a coffee drinker, you'll find what you like -- about 40 different blends and beans. I like their sandwiches. Not as cozy as some places, but inviting still.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rickf902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly and Good Cup o' Joe”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I live in Columbia and work close to this coffee shop. Additionally, I have been going here for about 14 years, which should say something in and of itself.

This is a good coffee shop with a variety of specialty coffees and good breakfast and lunch items. There is free WiFi, music, and ample seating. The young people working on your coffee and meal are knowledgeable and quick, and also very friendly. Prices are in line with big chains like Starbucks, but for me the food quality and especially the coffee quality are much better. And Mad City will alter any of the menu items to your taste.

A special note of the coffee: If you know anything about Starbucks, you know that they absolutely burn the coffee beans. Should I be forced to get a coffee from Starbucks, I must add cream and sugar, or I can't drink it. With Mad City, though, the roasting is done properly. The result is a fine cup of coffee with good and full flavor. I almost never add anything to a cup of Mad City coffee.

In addition, there is a huge selection of beans ranging from $8 per pound up to $40 per pound for the more exclusive Blue Mountain and Kona.

Mad City is the best place for coffee in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank musicapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great coffee, free Wifi, newspapers to read, community feel”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This shop has great coffee and also good lunch/lite fare food. Also they have some nice breakfast bakery items. They have occasional live music events also.

Helpful?
Thank seacoastmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Uneven quality”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Although I work in walking distance, this coffee shop isn't a choice for lunch. Tuna, chicken, and egg salads seem to be pre-made or purchased, and salad produce isn't always fresh. A friend recently got egg salad and thought it had an off taste. Portions are very uneven, especially on the salad platters where sometimes it's a scant scoop and sometimes it's heaping. Service is slow, and if you get there after 1 p.m. they act as if they are doing you a favor to wait on you. Coffee isn't particularly memorable, despite the huge presence of burlap bags of beans and a roaster in one corner.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank HospitalitySeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad City Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Mad City Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing