We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Eclectic but yummy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Gastro Pub

Victoria Gastro Pub
Reserve with OpenTable
Victoria Gastro Pub is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 252 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 108
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Eclectic but yummy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

At first glance the menu seems very frou-frou (technical name there..lol) but I am so glad I was encouraged to try some of their fare. The Poutine (sp?) was heaven and everything else is delish and a notch above what you would expect from any other restaurant.
It is pricey but the food is worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pbrault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    169
    59
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been there many times, and have never had a bad meal. It is a great place to go with friends or family. The wine and beer selection is unbeatable!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Food is OK, service is terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you're going to visit here, stay in the bar and enjoy one of the amazing cocktails. The food is OK, nothing spectacular. What really gets me, though, is how poor the service is. Our waiter disappeared for 20 minutes after taking our order, then brought our appetizer before our drinks. His response was, "The bar is really busy right now." We also had no silverware. Worst part of the night was as we (and several other tables around us) waited for our lost waiter to return so we could pay and get out of there, the owner and his daughter were fawning (loudly) over an apparent VIP guest in the corner of the dining room. They got free drinks. We got lousy service and had to go searching for our waiter. Never going back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Remember2Breathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gourmet Comfort Food and Terrific Beers on Tap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Their adventurous twists on Comfort Food make Victoria Gastro Pub one of the very best restaurants in the area. Their large number of Beers on tap plus even more bottled beers seal the deal. My experience has been that the Services is outstanding. I've taken a lot of visitors from out of town, many have had special requests; my experience has been that every request has been accommodated! I recommend the Duck Con fit Pu tine as an appetizer; we always order the large (for 4 or more). We have enjoyed all of the appetizers and many of their entrees. High points on the menu include: Pork Tenderloin, Fish and Chips, Salmon, Wagyu Burger, Lobster Grilled Cheese, and Truffle Fries.

The fact the menu isn't changing as often as it used to doesn't really impact visitors to the area or families with teens that are hard to please. This is our go to restaurant when friends and family are visiting from out of town!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeHikeEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Went for happy hour because it was always rated number 1 in Howard County Magazine. The service was awful, we had to ask for everything including the waitress. Still trying to figure out how it got such a high rating. Manager wasn't very helpful when I spoke to him either.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mrcs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Gastro Pub also viewed

 

Been to Victoria Gastro Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing