We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good but ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iron Bridge Wine Company

Iron Bridge Wine Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Iron Bridge Wine Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 252 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Had not been here in some time and thought would be a good Saturday lunch. Service and food was good. Server was knowledgeable, talked up wine selection and noted they only charge retail price, not marked up like many restaurants. However they charge $10 uncocking fee!! Pretty pretentious. Otherwise a good place to go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDFiosUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBWC-MD, General Manager at Iron Bridge Wine Company, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
MDFiosUser,

Thanks for taking the time to write review of The Iron Bridge. I was glad to read that you were happy with most aspects of your lunch experience.

As for our wine pricing, we do charge a $10.00 corkage fee over the retail price for in house consumption of wine. This has been our policy since opening over ten years ago. (Full disclosure: we charged $5.00 when we opened but raised it to $10.00 about seven years ago)
We do, however, offer a no-corkage special on Thursdays when we waive this fee.

We fell this is a very fair practice for our more than fair pricing. Most restaurants charge 200% or more over the retail price of a bottle of wine to consume in house. Because of our unique license that enables us to sell wine for on or off premise use, we add this nominal fee for in house purchase. This and this alone enables us to sustain the small mark-ups we run on our wine by the bottle program. We feel we offer the best value around for by the bottle purchases of wine when dining.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. It is only with feedback from our guests that we can hope to improve our dining experience.

Vince Culotta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    136
    53
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

I traveled in from Kentucky for the weekend. I was looking for something very special for my date, I must we received something more than special. Upon arriving our table wasn't ready and our server offered us a cocktail on the house while we waited, which was about 15 minutes. They sitted us in the window area and it was amazing, we will be returning! Thanks you Becky for making our night GREAT.

Helpful?
Thank littlejohnja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not up to par this time, wait staff were great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

On our way up to Pennsylvania we look forward to stopping in Warrenton and staying at the Hampton Inn then going right up the road to Iron Bridge Wine Company. We got to the restaurant a little early for dinner but the wait staff were very sweet in getting us situated with an appetizer while we waited for the kitchen to get up and going. We were looking over the wine list and couldn't come up with just the right wine we wanted to go with our lamb chops and steak so the gentleman behind the bar came over and let us try several different wines as he was very determined till we hit on just the perfect one. Thank you for your persistence. So after the delicious fig appetizer we could only imagine how good the meal would be and that was not the case this time around. The food was good but not up to par for this restaurant. The meats were cooked perfectly but just lacked that special something and the sides that were served were just bland and ordinary. However this will not stop us from going to this restaurant again because it does so many things right and our meals in the past have been delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shoregirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great wine, great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It had been many years since we had been at Iron Bridge Wine and wanted to try it again. We had great meals. My wife picked the hamburger (unusual choice for her) and she LOVED it. The side fries were also amazing. I had the chef special coq au vin and was very pleased. The food and our wine was very good. The restaurant is small so if you like a more lively atmosphere close to other diners, Iron Bridge will be a great choice. If you prefer quiet and romantic, this may not work well for you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyasisDragon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't keep to myself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My last visit was as the result of a 1/2 yearly birthday certificate I received in the mail as a result of being on Iron Bridge Wine Co's mailing list. I was so glad to have received such a valuable coupon with a percentage off an appetizer, entree and dessert. So three of us Aries went and we had to share our meets with each other because we just couldn't pick only one item we wanted to taste. As a result, I highly recommend the Octopus for an appetizer, the lamb ravioli and the rabbit...yummy...accompanied by a Cote' de Rone wine and topped off with their peach cobbler so warm and mellow.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Bridge Wine Company also viewed

 

Been to Iron Bridge Wine Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing