We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not really a wonder” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melting Pot of Columbia

Melting Pot of Columbia
Reserve with OpenTable
Melting Pot of Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #97 of 260 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Govenor Warfield Pkwy.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not really a wonder”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Let me start saying that I might be spoiled and that may be the cause of what I will say. Went there on a Sunday evening 30min prior my reservation. Got inside and waited 5min until someone approached, that someone was the Manager of this place-who really seemed to care about everything. All the staff that I met there was really nice and friendly. Service is great. The atmosphere great for couples-it's romantic. And the worst I found was the food itself. Started with Swiss cheese fondue: not a good choice because of how it tasted. the second part with cooking the food is almost great and kind of fun but it's disappointing that the liquid used for cooking/boiling as I understood is used over and over by different guests-if i'm right then it's the worst part of this meal. The desserts are great but will not understand how can you get something sweet(let's say the cheesecake) and dip it in something that's sweet? the fruits are good but almost no variety and the chocolate used as fondue that assembled a Yin Yang had to be white and dark but it was all dark and some white to create the symbol. And at the end the prices are way too high.
It's unusual, it's a good experience that everyone has to try. But for me will be just a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andig333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    17
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of Columbia's hidden wonders”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

A friend of mine was celebrating his girlfriend birthday and we (my girlfriend and I) were invited. This was our first time at a fondue restaurant and was a little skeptic. We had a wonderful server who explains the Manu in detail giving us her favorite and great suggestions. She even sang a happy birthday song in another language for my friend's girlfriend. It was so much fun. The food, wine and mix drinks are the best; the owner was very kind and frequently checks on us to see how we were doing. This is a really nice place to go on a date or office party. It is Fun Fun Fun. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RossReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
675 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Tasty Fondue, Older Location, Good Happy Hour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Having gone to several, the food seems pretty consistant across the chain. Dinner here is a lot of food, so bring several to enjoy, or split a meal. This location is in a somewhat lonely location, in an older strip mall. They do have a great happy hour with half price cheese and chocolate fondu, and drink specials at the bar. For two people, I have found if you get a starter cheese fondue, it is more than enough to share one entree, unless you eat a lot. The Fiesta cheese fondue is a great way to start if you like spicy food- you can make as spicy as you want with extra jalapenos and Tabasco. The French Quarter is always a solid choice for an entree, but on this occasion, went with the Land and Sea, which combines filet and chicken with shrimp. We also upgraded to include the lobster tail, which I would not do again. That was a first, and overall in quality and taste, the tail just wasn't that great. Overall a nice night. Would go back for happy hour fondue here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Pricey, but a great place for a special night out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

My husband, daughter, and I enjoyed Father's Day dinner here. I was searching for a unique dining experience and The Melting Pot was perfect. The food was marinated well and the choices made the experience more customized. The atmosphere is perfect not only for family, but particularly for a romantic date. The service was very good and we will certainly return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank latkwat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced for ok food and bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This chain is overpriced for not much food that is plain and boring. The drinks are ok, but also expensive. The service is slow (we waited over 15 mins. after seating before anyone ever came over on more than one visit) and we never have had attentive service. They are typically nice, but slow.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveler9696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melting Pot of Columbia also viewed

 

Been to Melting Pot of Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing