We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food and outstanding service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chutney Indian Restaurant

Chutney Indian Restaurant
9400 Snowden River Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045
4103813600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 249 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and outstanding service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I love Indian food, but I have been pretty disappointed since moving to Maryland,until I found this place. The food is very, very good. I loose my appetite if there is any weird consistency with any meat product, and I have found that I can order just about anything here, with confidence. While the food is great, it's the service here that really stands out. Immediate seating, drinks, free tastings of classic dishes, free mango smoothie for my son...that's right...we take our 3 year old son here and its been great. The wait staff loves kids, everyone was so nice, and attentive. I can't really say enough about the service, as they set the bar very high. It's the best Indian I've had anywhere near Columbia. They take credit cards, there's plenty of parking, and a full bar. Easy, fast, kind and tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    29
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First Visit to Chutney Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were greeted warmly and welcomed. The air was full of wonderful spice smells. Service was smooth and efficient as well as very friendly throughout the evening. Our experience continued to be pleasant as we had our appetizers and drinks. When our entrees arrived we were amazed at the size of the portions. We enjoy the individual serving dishes being kept warm over candle light because it makes sharing easier. The food was delicious with every bite and we were full only half way through our food. The server was sweet and made our drinks to order explaining Indian culture of dishes and heritage which enriched our enjoyment. Our take home left overs were a full meal and something to look forward to later. Service was attentive and gracious. We highly recommend this restaurant for a nice relaxing meal with great food and atmosphere. Enjoy!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The food was very oily - which is indian cuisine I guess - but this was extreme. Good service though and HUGE portions. Order a main between two!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Childsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The food was truly wonderful and the portions generous for the price. The wait staff was so kind and attentive. A must try.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jbrnrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service = Great Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My bride and I live in Columbia and have been eyeing Chutney's for the last couple of weeks. On impulse we decided to have dinner there this Thursday. My wife had the lamb i had the CHICKEN HYDERABADI.and I asked for it to be a bit more spicy than normal. They were both fabulous. the lamb and the chicken were both very tender, the spiciness of my dish was not so overbearing that you couldn't taste all the other wonderful flavors. Served with basmati rice. The service was just as fabulous as the food. Our waiter Navraze (forgive the mis-spelling) started by asking what meat we were thinking of having and immediately made some wonderful suggestions with a very good explanation of what was in it. While waiting for our meal he brought us some Samosas to try, on the house. in the interim he told us of his home in Nepal and how the foods from his home are very similar. He was attentive but not hovering. His recommendation for dessert, RASMALAI was perfect, not too sweet and light. We will definitely be back. I want to try the buffet next... served for lunch every day.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chutney Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chutney Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing