We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Early Bird Special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Contrivance Restaurant

King's Contrivance Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 251 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Early Bird Special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The restaurant is a bit pricy but if you go to the Early Bird (anything before 6:00) you can get some great deals. We like to go to this restaurant for special occasions.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieSteveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    38
    15
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have enjoyed King's Contrivance for many years. So much so we hosted our son's rehearsal dinner there 6 years ago and we're still getting compliments. Excellent setting, service and dining experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and setting, didn't disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We have been to King's Contrivance periodically for over 30 years, but hadn't been in two years. The whole experience was lovely. From the maitre d' welcoming us by name, looking so "right" in his sports jacket with puffed handkerchief, to the relaxed but efficient service, it was stylish and yet not over-the-top. The food was wonderful, especially the baked brie appetizer and veal oscar. Both the halibut and salmon were very tasty as well. The English Trifle dessert was a light and wonderful as we remembered from year's past. As a special treat, bottles of wine were half price on Friday night!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidandMary82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great service. Food has returned to its former excellence. Nicely done all around. We enjoyed our mid-week dinner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambrills
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First visit - very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

On Jan 18 2014, our family went to the King's Contrivance to celebrate a birthday for dinner. My wife had a specific request for the side dishes, and when the meal was presented, one of the side dishes was not what had been ordered. The waitress said "Sometimes the chef just does what she wants." Although we didn't make an issue of it at the time, we still can't believe that response - especially for a meal at such a great expense. Bottom line - that was our first and last trip to this highly recommended place with the flippant attitude.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil21054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Contrivance Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to King's Contrivance Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing