We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fabulous Indian Food - recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of House of India

House of India
Reserve with OpenTable
House of India is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 254 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous Indian Food - recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I often visit the Columbia MD area but this was my first visit to this restaurant. It doesn't jump out at you, but was highly recommended by friends who frequent the place. Our party of 7 shared multiple dishes so we were able to sample a wide variety of the cuisine. Some were a bit too spicy for everyone even though we ordered everything "mild" so use some caution there. The lamb could have been leaner but we had no other complaints and enjoyed everything. Specifically recommend the Chicken Makhani (butter chicken), Nan (of course), and Prawn Pepper Masala. I will certainly be visiting again on my next visit to the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nieroda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love the chicken tika masala!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

They have a great luncheon buffet. I usually only eat the chicken tika masala ... it's fantastic!. It's a bit on the spicy side but the sauce, rice and chicken taste is worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I'm in the area on business and only tried this place because of a recommendation. The restaurant is located in a small strip mall and looks 'run down' on the outside. BUT don't be fooled. This place is amazing. The inside is decorated appropriately with white linens and servers in white dress shirts with bow-ties. Service was attentive without being overwhelming. I had the chicken Vinadloo -spicy- and found it to be outstanding. Great Nan also. This place Is definitely worth visiting!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newenglandbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The best Indian we have found in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We have tried a number if other Indian restaurants in the area (and there are quite a few) but we always go back to the House of India. The best deal is the combination dinner for two. It comes with soup, naan, an assortment of tandoori chicken and lamb, vegetable korma (assorted veggies in creamy spicy sauce, probably our favorite dish there) a choice of chicken curry or rogan josh (lamb in a tomato based sauce) rice, and dessert. We always go home with enough for another meal. Their chicken tikka masala is also excellent, rich and flavorful. Service is efficient but often impersonal. The food more than makes up for it though, no other Indian we have had has the depth and richness of flavor like House of India.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bmorechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another Great Indian Joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

we went here for the lunch buffet and we were happy to find that it met the quality that we have come to expect from indian restaurants:

The Good:
-Easy to find
-Clean white table cloths not a bunch paper "linen"
-As expected very polite and helpful servers
-Great and varied vegetarian options

The Not so Good:
-Crowded Parking
-Crowded seating
-Get there on time otherwise you will be rushed since they closed by 3pm

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sulphide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of India also viewed

 

Been to House of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing