We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi King

Sushi King
Ranked #16 of 254 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Tucked away in a small strip mall, but once you walk in the door, you'll be shocked. Great food and excellent atmosphere/decor!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    16
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
“Great Sushi!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Sushi is awesome, the staff is great, family run, and they treat everyone like family. Great place to come too, highly recommend!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelpCenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had read all the reviews and was expecting much better. Host was awesome. Very friendly, smiled a lot. Server, not so much. I like the fact that the servers wore the traditional Japanese attire. Very nice. Server seemed not too interested in serving me, possibly as I was alone. In any event, I ordered the Baltimore roll, quite pricey $10. 6 pieces would have been $5 at home (SC). It was just okay, a little "fishy" smelling which is not good. I didn't get sick, however. Tea not hot so sent back an received a hot one. Pretty uneventful and bland dining.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dappersmooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
357 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Extensive sushi menu - lots of trendy dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very good / very fresh / very crowded.
The waitress didn't get our order the first time, but she fixed it. Sushi was very tasty, most of them had sauces on it.

The shabu-shabu wasn't as tasty as it should be.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom_B_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant of all time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you are critical and want great sushi prepared beautifully, priced fairly and served in a caring manner I would highly recommend that you visit Sushi-King. The restaurant has so many regulars that some of us have become friends. The restaurant deservedly is crowded but they will take reservations. The owners treat you as if they invited you into their home and will do everything possible to make you feel that way.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clbhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi King also viewed

 

Been to Sushi King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing