We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi-king Restaurant

Sushi-king Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 251 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Staying in Columbia, MD for a week....did a lot of research on nearby Sushi restaurants. We opted to try this one, mostly due to decent reviews. Upon entering the restaurant, I thought that I had wandered into a storage room, but it turned out to be the foyer. When we entered the actual restaurant, we were greeted and seated promptly. I ordered the sesame seaweed salad, my husband ordered the seafood soup and we ordered 3 speciality rolls to share. My seaweed salad was delivered almost immediately. It was oddly sweet instead of savory. After thinking they had forgotten my husband's soup, it was delivered with two of the three sushi rolls. His soup had 1 scallop, 1 shrimp, 1 piece of fake crabmeat and one other piece of unknown seafood. The seafood was not small enough for bite size and he said the broth just tasted like salt water. The sushi was disappointing. One roll contained some warm rice, mushy tuna and barely detectable roe. One roll contained warm rice, rubbery shrimp and fake crabmeat. They finally brought the third sushi roll which turned out to be fake crabmeat wrapped in a large amount of lettuce. None of the sushi rolls seemed to match the description on the menu. The prices were some of the most expensive I've ever eaten for sushi....around $15 per roll. Our water glasses were never refilled except when the manager(?) happened to walk by. One sushi chef spent more time joking with a waitress than making sushi. The decor was tired, the wallpaper was peeling and the baseboard could have used a good cleaning. The cloth curtains leading to the restroom were visibly dirty and food encrusted. I won't be back here. I'm hoping for better luck at the other two sushi places on my list for the week.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kuppkake K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    15
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
397 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great Place for Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went for "date night" on a Friday evening.

The place was very busy - a good sign, and it only took about 7 minutes to get seated.

Food: Delicious. Sushi is a bit compared to other places nearby.
Service: Top notch (English may be a 2nd language - but adds to the authenticity)
Location: Good for between Baltimore & DC
Parking: Free and ample
Drinks: Traditional drinks
Ambiance: Sushi bar, traditional Japanese rooms, American style seating.

Would I recommend: Yes
Would I go back to: Probably

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank COTraveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Top of the Line Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want consistently fresh sushi, then Sushi King in Columbia is where you need to go. The Sushi chefs (at least 5 on any given night) create artful and unusual combinations in addition to the standard sushi offerings. The prices are a bit higher than other locations, but truly, in this instance, you get what you pay for. In addition to sushi and sashimi, the kitchen prepares outstanding tempura and terriyaki dishes. The service is very good and most nights the owner or the manager will stop by your table and personally ensure your meal meets both your and their satisfaction. The fact that the restaurant is always crowded, even Tuesday through Thursday is a great barometer of their quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fishboy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This place never disappoints. Great sushi, great variety, excellent price. They're always busy for a reason! If you're looking for a magical ambiance, this isn't the place--it is more of a standard restaurant setting. But the atmosphere is pleasant and enjoyable.

Great place for a solo lunch, family dinner, meeting--whatever. You'll enjoy the place and the food!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank musicapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle River, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a great place to have sushi! I have been going to this location since I was in elementary school! The price keeps going up so, I haven't been as often as I would like to. Its a wonderful place to go with a group of people or just out on a date. Not a place I would go to all the time because of price. There are other sushi places in the area that are cheaper. However, if you want some really great sushi and rolls go here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi-king Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sushi-king Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing