We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic”

Clyde's of Columbia
Reserve with OpenTable
Clyde's of Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 263 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Little Patuxent Parkway, Route 175
Description: Situated between Washington and Baltimore, overlooking Lake Kittamaqundi, Clyde's of Columbia is perfectly situated for good times. Clyde's location attracts nearby shoppers, Merriweather Post Pavilion visitors, businesspeople and families for its great food and friendly atmosphere. The casual setting offers its patrons dining at the long wooden bar, framed by vintage travel posters, or elegant seating along the windows with a view of the lake. From Memorial Day to Labor Day, festivals and concerts attract people from miles around to enjoy the outside pavilion making Clyde's of Columbia a local favorite.
Clarksville, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Clyde's has an aura within it that you can feel. Classy feel, classy hostess, classy waiters. Very comfortable, great location.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    175
    74
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What has happened!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Those were the days my friend I thought theyed never end! BUT they did. Unless this place gets a huge overhaul, I would not bring a dead fish in!
It smells! Its not superior like the old days were! Its lost its panache! The only thing going for Clyde's in Columbia is the days long gone and the views!

Helpful?
Thank Debora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Impressed...”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We ordered an appetizer that was a fried ravoli. The portion size was very disappointing for the amount of money we spent. However, the food ordered was above average. We got the pork chops (which were huge) and the crabcakes. The crabcakes were not the best but they were not bad either. I would order something different next time. I would definetly go back. Oh..the waitress was very nice and super great when I had a hard time choosing my drink order. She was very patient. I would recommend this place for sure. My one suggestion...the tables seem way to close together...I didn't like sitting that close to other customers.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 45Cocojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Love this place, but get there early for Happy Hour at the bar if you want a seat! Wings and burgers are to die for!

Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Almost excellent”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The crab soup was wonderful, there were no specials which was strange and forced us to struggle through a menu with no focus or guidance. Our large group had a number of different appetizers, salads, dinners, desserts with very mixed results.

The hot steak salad sounded appealing but was lacking in flavor and was a disappointment. The Salmon Burger was fishy and dry, served on a bun that wasn't fresh but was accompanied by a very good cucumber salad. The filet mignon was very good as were the appetizers.
Service wasn't great, not sure if the staff is inexperienced or not observant, or if management isn't focused on the details. No serving utensils provided with the shared appetizers, 4 different plates of 3 dinner rolls each were set out for our group of 16 - maybe the sandwich eaters weren't entitled to dinner rolls? If the rolls come with certain menu items only they should accompany the specific item, not served as a separate course.

We were all clearly uncomfortable due to the drafts from the window we were seated against and finally got up to lower the blinds on each window ourselves.

The desserts were wonderful - chocolate cupcake with an orange cream filling was decadent. Brownie sundae was also delicious.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clyde's of Columbia also viewed

 

Been to Clyde's of Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing