We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very good South Indian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Grove

Mango Grove
Ranked #43 of 254 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Indian Cuisine -Light, Healthy & Delicious. Open EVERYDAY for Lunch & Dinner
san francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good South Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Idly was top notch. Their soups and currys tend to be spicy compared to other South Indian restaurants I have been to. Rice and naan were excellent. Great place for vegans and vegetarians.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripsgesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    29
    7
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Love Mango Grove, both the lunch buffet and the regular menu are excellent. New location is beautiful. Not expensive at all, great value.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank elg820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New location brighter and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

A group of us recently re-visited grove at its recently-opened new location. It's a little trek for us, but Mango Grove had always been a favorite for Indian food, especially as some of us are vegetarian or vegan and Mango grove provides well for our choices. We had great expectations for the new restaurant and we were not disappointed. The meat dishes are now available in a discreetly-placed area at the end of the extensive and varied vegetable-based buffet selection, which offers wonderful choices for all. Of course, one can always order from the menu. We like to go on Sunday for the lunch buffet. Freshly-made little dosas are brought to the table, along with fresh naan. This is a big plus. The dining space is beautifully done, and the windows overlook the lake. (It was hot sitting in the window, but the hostess tells us that they are quickly working on providing supplementary cooling for that area. The restaurant is also considering placing some tables and chairs outside overlooking the lake). The location is a little hidden. Without a GPS, we knew to turn on Stanford Blvd, but the large sign for Social Security over-rides the tiny sign for Stanford Blvd. This is just a helpful hint for people going there for the first time and who don't have or use GPS. Turn left at the sign for Social Security - or be prepared to make a U-turn further along the road....but do go. You can't be disappointed. The food and service are very, very good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Glad you are back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I love the new place and looking out on the lake is neet! As alway the same great food!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarylandHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I recently moved to Baltimore from NJ. So I have to dumb down my expectations here for indian food. Visited this place based on a friend's recommendation.

They had chat, dosa and other standard items. I enjoyed the buffet. Nice clean envirronment with some seats having a great window-side view.

Price was slightly expensive for the buffet. With a drink, the bill was around $20. And on another occasion, a la carte, a tea and samosa costed some 13 dollars! (in NJ, it would have been < 5 bucks).

But I will visit once in a while since being in Baltimore, this is somewhat better than the rest.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NjRavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango Grove also viewed

 

Been to Mango Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing