We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hard To Beat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunan Manor Restaurant

Hunan Manor Restaurant
Ranked #135 of 254 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Hard To Beat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have eaten at Hunan many times over many years and while there are shortcomings, the value and food is tough to beat.

The positives are the food quality (most of the time), attentive service, speed (assuming you want speedy service), and terrific value for the money. Also the restaurant is completely open to customizing your order--e.g. more heat, less heat kind of stuff...

The negatives are the dated and often worn/rumpled decor, a sense of less-than-optimal cleanliness, stoic nature of many staffers, and variances in dish flavor depending on who is cooking.

Even with the negatives, the food quality and moderate prices keep Hunan as a perpetual "very good" restaurant. Lunches (served till 3pm) are especially good value here. Two can get a large amount of fresh, healthy (lots of veggies), and very good tasting food for well under $20. That thought always makes us shake our heads at the notion of people eating unhealthy (and frozen) fast food for essentially the same cost.

Other notable things? Chicken dishes here taste best to us, then seafood, and last beef/pork... A huge aquarium is especially interesting to kids... Extremely fast carryout that has the same food quality and seemingly more volume for less money... Typically extensive menu, with broader real Chinese menu available... Staff are all bi-lingual... Okay clean, but always damp feeling restrooms...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewStart78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    38
    26
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food varies with Cook”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have been there several times and found that the quality and spiciness of the food varies. It is usually pretty good food and the staff is very good. We went there on 2014 New Years Day and the best cooks must have been off. Our food came out lukewarm, bland and not together this time but that is not usually the case. We were there a week before and the food and services was much better.
Ambiance: The aquariums in the dining room and the fountain in the lobby are pretty and interesting to look at while you are waiting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleyH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Mi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Special Chinese Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We enjoyed a delicious dinner recently at Hunan Manor. The restaurant was recommended by our son-in-law, a frequent restaurant goer, who grew up in the area. The decor is more elegant than your typical Chinese restaurant and the food was excellent. Our table was next to a lovely wall aquarium that served as a room divider. The menu is extensive. Be prepared though, it is all a la carte, so with appetizers, soup and drinks, it was more expensive than your average Chinese restaurant. Entrees were brought on large platters, so could be easily shared. The Sesame Chicken and General Tso's Chicken were very tender and tasty. I highly recommend this restaurant for a special adult evening out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MI-trek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Tasteless, watery Chinese food crap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

What a disappointment for such a huge price! The Singapore Rice Noodles had no seasoning - they tasted like Ramen noodles. The Beef Szechuan was all carrots with a small number of beef strips, and the Honey Sesame Chicken was dried up. Three dinners but only two fortune cookies. Terrible restaurant - I will drive to Fort Meade for better Chinese food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palisades Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place to have a Chinese Dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's one of best place I went to Chinese restaurant around area.
Specially, love seafood and vegetables.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jhh1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Manor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing