We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Love this place for take out!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunan Manor Restaurant

Hunan Manor Restaurant
Ranked #71 of 251 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Love this place for take out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I have been going here for about 15 years. I live in PA, and I still stop through when traveling. The food is very good for take out. The same lady has been there as long as i can remember. I have eaten in a few times, but the service was never up to par. On occasion, it has been downright awful when eating there. Order take out, and enjoy it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tclark62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    37
    23
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, service, and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We thought we would try a new Chinese place just to break out of the mold a little. Going out to eat costs so much these days, and with a family of five, we don't like to experiment much. The food was very tasty, they used fresh meats & veggies, and definitely had their own taste. Was not greasy as I have experienced with many other Chinese restaurants. The service was excellent. I would give it a 5-star, but I save those for reviews that are way way above & beyond, although this restaurant could easily receive a 5-star from others and I wouldn't question it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“THE BEST CHINESE!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love Hunan Manor! If I am within 10 miles of Columbia anywhere near lunchtime, I hit Hunan in the GPS and get there! Honey Sesame Chicken is the best...and all chicken is white meat only without having to ask for it or get an upcharge. Egg rolls are awesome and hot tea with every meal..what's not to love! Get there ASAP!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BaltyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

You can't go wrong. Everything we've had is good. Try to get a large circle table - you'll need at least 6 people, and they are frequently in use with large Asian families. Ask for a knife, though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank StreamsAndCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You can have it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This place is extremely inconsistent- occasionally you can get a decent meal but not on a regular basis. My friend loves this place so I go occasionally and am usually not pleased. Today I ordered spring rolls, which were overcooked, filled with cabbage with one snow pea. No shrimp, pork or anything else.
I split an order of Singapore Noodles with my friend, something that is usually pretty good. Not today. It was extremely dry, only the curry seasoning came through taste wise. I ate very little and called it a day. There is no reason that a pot of hot tea should have froth on the top.

The staff is really pleasant, nice people. The orange slices at the end of the meal are a nice touch. It is clean. If you like to look at giant fish tanks and don't care about food, this place is for you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank winterfling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Manor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Manor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing