We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Happy hour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of P.F. Chang's

P.F. Chang's
Ranked #20 of 254 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
234 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Happy hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We really like this restaurant, especially at their happy hour from 3-6. I don't really know about their drink prices, but they had a special appetizer menu for happy hour. Everything there is priced a bit lower than regular, and some things are (or in the past had been) only available off of that menu. What we have done several times is to get four appetizers, and then split an entree.

Our favorite appetizers are the chicken lettuce wraps and the flaming red wontons. The latter used to be available only off of the happy hour menu, but we noticed on this visit that they were on the regular appetizer menu as well. This time, our other two appetizers were egg rolls (2) and crab wontons.

The server brings out a tri-tray of sauces that you can use on any thing. There is a mustard sauce, a soy type sauce and a hotter sauce (sort of like siracha, aka rooster sauce). To our tastes, even the "spicy" dishes are fairly mild and so we will stir in a bit of the hot sauce.

They do have a good variety of main courses.

Here is a link to their menu pages -- I was looking at the happy hour, but the other menus will be only a click away.
http://www.pfchangs.com/menu/Menu.aspx

As with many restaurants in the Columbia area, it pays to arrive between 5-6 pm. After 6 pm, the popular restaurants begin to fill up and the wait time grows, sometimes approaching an hour.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    65
    30
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Visited P.F. Changs yesterday at 3:00pm. It was very busy for 3pm on a Saturday. Service was a little slow but not awful. The waiter was very nice and pleasant. I love the atmosphere at P.F. Chang's. The lighting is subdued so it has a romantic feel to it. The food was wonderful, as usual, and portions were good even though we ordered the Dinner for Two which was $39.99. Desserts were rather small which is expected with those sort of deals.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love PF Chang's at any location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Always go to PF Chang's on business or pleasure when traveling as it is always excellent food and consistent. This restaurant does not disappoint and I have always had good service and good food here at a reasonable expense.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank BjFDamascus_Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Seasonal Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I feel I have to warn folk about their seasonal dish Pad Thai, its exceptionally salty almost to the point that you cant eat it.
Also on this particular occasion the food was a very long time coming, over half an hour and was not hot. This was not at their busy time either, around 2:30 pm, with the restaurant under half full.
Unsure what to think about this service as this hasn't been the experience we have had in the past.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ijamsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good Food, Okay Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Visited P.F. Chang's for lunch in December. My party arrived around 11:45 on a Monday, and there was plenty of seating. I love the decor and furnishings. Very comfortable. There is a pretty decent lunch menu available, but we decided to order for the dinner menu instead. First we ordered the dynamite shrimp. They were not too spicy, but must admit the tempura batter was a little bit soggy. They were just okay. For my main meal, I ordered the seared lamb. This dish is one of my favorites, and it did not disappoint! Also ordered the won ton soup, which was perfect for a cold day.

They only complaint I did have was the service. Getting the food out was fine, but I had to wait 20 minutes to find my waiter to pay my bill. Otherwise, it was a great visit. I'll be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lvshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed P.F. Chang's also viewed

 

Been to P.F. Chang's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing