We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very good Indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akbar Restaurant - CLOSED

Akbar Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have been there twice, once with Indian friends and we ordered off the menu and another time I went for the buffet. The food is very good and flavorful. I liked their buffet too. It was a good way to try many different menu items.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
340 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with consistently good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We patronize Akbar at least once a month because we like the food and the restaurant staff. Although we've tried other Indian restaurants, we always end up back at Akbar. Every time we go, we try to order something we haven't previously tried. Unlike many chain restaurants that opt for large portions so they can charge more, the portions at Akbar are about the right size. There's a sufficient quantity to fill you up with a little left to take home. All the food is made fresh and is reasonably priced. One good thing about this establishment is that there is no one waiter for each table. If anyone on the staff notices you need more water or something else, they'll get it for you. It doesn't matter if you're technically "their" table. Akbar could stand some updating, but is a nice place to eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jaimeelsabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've been to Akbar Restaurant on multiple occasions. I travel for business to Columbia about once a month, and Akbar is one of my standby restaurants when I want food I know I will enjoy and don't have the time or energy to travel out of Columbia. I've never been disappointed, and the evening staff is especially friendly and warm. Love this place!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great service, great food, fair prices. Our group of 4 each had different meals and they were all great - two varieties of Lamb, Salmon, and Baked Eggplant. The staff was very warm and friendly. Frequent checking on customer needs without being annoying. Each person gets their own burner to keep the entree warm and you get as much safron rice as needed. Plenty of great Indian drinks like Mango Lassi and they give you a nice take home box. Well worth a trip.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

The service is good, food is fabulous- the best masala ever! I like the ground (keema) masala.
The place is needing redecorating. it's always busy and does a great take out business but the place is really looking worn. the old pink/coral and teal aren't doing it and the seats are torn. It's really time for some renovations. So, it's not the nest looking place, but it does have the best indian food around!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank atrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing