We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of ASEAN Bistro

ASEAN Bistro
Ranked #53 of 261 Restaurants in Columbia
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

First of all, this bistro has a very nice atmosphere! With their cozy architecture, tables, chairs to the band that plays music while people dine. Food is amazing! Their Pan fried noodles is a must try along with their chicken lettuce wrap. It was my first time and will definitely go back for more. I recommend this place for a first date or a family dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fudtripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Asian Food at Deliciously Reasonable Cost”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Jesse Wong's Asean Bistro www.aseanbistro.com provides delicious food served in a relaxed atmosphere. The prices are reasonable for lunch or dinner. It's often our go-to-place for guaranteed good meal and service. It's a favorite among the area locals. Absolutely unpretentious! Whenever friends visit Columbia www.columbiamd.com, we take them to the Asean Bistro. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cc12807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Used to be great but not anymore”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I live a few miles from the Asean Bistro, it's been our go-to for Chinese food for about 10 years. In the last year, the food quality has really slipped. Now we'll only order the appetizers and even then we keep it simple. Egg drop soup, veggie spring rolls, chicken satay, those are all still pretty good. Everything else on the menu tastes like frozen food service food, tossed into a deep fryer. It all used to be so fresh and delicious, it always tasted chef prepared, but their level of quality has really slipped. We ordered carryout last night for the last time. I had the egg drop and the chicken satay, it was acceptable. My husband had the sweet and sour pork, it was the last thing on the menu he would still eat, but this time it tasted bad. Rubbery pork, definitely frozen nuggets made off-site in a factory somewhere, tossed in a frier and then covered with a jar of pink sauce. We were so disappointed. Unfortunately, I don't think we'll be going back anymore. We've given them many opportunities to come back up to par but they haven't. It's a shame, The Asean Bistro used to be so good, one of our favorites. Not anymore.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Horsegirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tasty food, great atmosphere, good service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall we had a very nice dinner. The restaurant layout is great and stylish partitions allow for privacy which allows for a great dining atmosphere. The service was very good and attentive--our water glasses were always full.

We started with the Red Sauced Wontons which were really too spicy to eat (a lot of chili sauce). We probably left half of it uneaten because it sets your mouth on fire. The entrees we got were DELICIOUS. We ordered the Crispy Boneless Duck W/ Chef's Brown Sauce and the Supreme Crispy Eggplant and couldn't decide which one we liked more. Would definitely recommend both of those dishes,

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stace98d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average asian food”
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

On the way to a concert we decided to stop here my 1stniece problem is after we ordered our takeout the gentleman asked us if we needed plates. We said yes. not only did we not get plates no forks either. Food was average
tasting . I would rather be at a japenese rest. Or pf changs. If im in the area i may give them another chance. But i would really have to be in the mood for chinese.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flochis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASEAN Bistro also viewed

 

Been to ASEAN Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing