We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great Sushi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Sono

Sushi Sono
Ranked #10 of 252 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Consistently great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

If you are visiting the Columbia Mall or Merryweather Post and are int he mood for sushi, this is the place to go. Located a few minutes away from both venues, nicely placed along the lake front in Columbia. This has become our only stop for sushi in the area. They have both standard fare as well as some chef creations and then daily specials. And all our Sushi loving friends agree that the fish is the freshest.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    40
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This restaurant, on the edge of the lake, offers good sushi (large portions) in relaxed and friendly surroundings. The waiting staff are helpful and ready to chat, share a joke.

There are taster menus and plenty to choose from if you already know your sushi!

Some dishes are house specialities - don't miss the chance to try something new!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leytonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Above the Norm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Made the journey based upon the recommendation of a friend. We were warmly greeted and seated quickly. Service was exceptionally attentive with drinks topped off and empty plates removed most promptly. We enjoyed the sushi sampler, several of the daily specials and some ala carte standard selections. The dragon roll and tempura soft crab were outstandind, although our clan of sushi-lovers found each dish a cut above. Save a trip to LA or Morimito's in Philly this place serves the best sushi we've had. It's well worth the trip for the quality; the friendly service and nice lakeftont views are icing on the cake. We'll definitely be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Belgianbeerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Great Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

A wonderful sushi experience. Terrific staff. Looking forward to visiting again and enjoying the wonderful fare.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sushi restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have been to dozens of sushi restaurants all over the country. This ranks up there with the best. Service is excellent, and the Royal Crab Roll is absolutely awesome -- impossible to get just one. Hard to get just two!

We went on a Tuesday in October and the place was packed; apparently it's no secret how excellent this restaurant is!

I've been here three or four times. Always impressed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Sono also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Sono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing