We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected Swank!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ale House Columbia

The Ale House Columbia
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ale House Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 260 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unexpected Swank!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Arrived expecting another run-of-the-mill tap house with all of the customary scenery, but was quite surprised at the upscale decor and layout. This establishment appears to be attempting to cater to a younger, hipster crowd (our impression, at least), but they've done a great job at creating an appealing place for all types. Nice job incorporating a sports aspect in with a bit of nightlife swank. Extensive beer selection on tap, but we weren't overly impressed with the house brews we had. Food was pretty good for the money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BictheMagnificent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    77
    32
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Ale House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The restaurant is fairly new to Columbia but has moved quickly to a popular place to hang out, have dinner. Excellent customer relations and attention paid to the customer. Food is hot and large portions. Very reasonable in their prices and of course a large variety of Beer - it is an ale house!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxine125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and i went here on last weekend. The service left a lot to be desired. We waited about 40 minutes for our food. It was not crowded. When the manager asked us how things were, i mentioned the food taking a long time, it did not appear to me that he cared.

My wife got a turkey burger that seemed a little over cooked. I got the Brewhouse Pretzel starter with a side of fries. It was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Speedracer1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Expensive burger! But LOVED the fries and brownie sundae. Staff is very courteous and friendly. I'd come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chosen by others, Recommended by us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We had the opportunity to visit with friends and they choose the Ale House. We're really glad they did because we will definitely go back, given the chance.

Their beer selection was diverse and didn't disappoint. We started with the mussels, a nice way to start the meal. Ei enjoyed the tacos and had the vegetable risotto. For me, as soon as they offered the evening's special of NY Strip with blue cheese on top, I knew I had to get it. I was very happy with my choice as the steak was properly cooked and the garlic mashed potatoes were a wonderful side dish. We finished the meal with bread pudding, which was a great choice.

The Ale House is a restaurant that we will definitely recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ei and Aar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ale House Columbia also viewed

 

Been to The Ale House Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing