We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Most Enjoyable Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ale House Columbia

The Ale House Columbia
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ale House Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 252 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Most Enjoyable Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

There are plenty of dining choices in the Columbia area but my first visit to the recently opened Columbia Ale House proved very enjoyable. The choice was spontaneous and it proved to be a good one. I am familiar with some of the creative people behind this venture and I was not disappointed.

I went solo and sat at the bar, behind which is a dazzling array of taps offering dozens of drafts. I intended to order a salad but after observing what a few folks nearby were eating I opted for a juicy burger with all the trimmings, washed down with a Boulevard Brewery draft. It was the perfect pairing at the end of a busy day.

One thing that truly impressed me was that the manager approached and cheerfully inquired whether I was enjoying myself and encouraged me to let him know if there was anything he could do for me. Then he thanked me for visiting.

I will definitely give the Ale House another try, and maybe then I'll have that salad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrktwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    68
    29
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good "Upscale" Bar Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We decided to try the Ale House after getting a good review from a friend. Wen on a Sunday evening and it looked to be about 50% full, but we were told wait would be about 10 minutes. Ended up waiting about 30 seconds till another hostess came back and seated us. The decor is all new and has a clean modern look. A complete redo from the restaurant that was there before. Music was a little loud but not overly so, seemed to be playing mostly 90's alt rock which we kinda liked. We were seated near the bar but it wasn't too loud to have a conversation.

We checked out the beer and drink list and it looked quite interesting. They really do focus on ales, as well as other full flavored and/or hoppy beers like porters and stouts. I would have liked to maybe have a few more choices of lagers, hefeweizens, etc. Also an interesting selection of large bottle rare beers, some of which are quite expensive. I liked that for drafts they have a number of different sizes available, although I think the prices may be a little higher because of it. My wife tried their pineapple chili margarita as she is not a beer fan and she really enjoyed it, it had a nice mix of sweet and spicy. Our server was very nice and enthusiastic, he described the menu and made some recommendations on his favorite dishes.

We decided to share some appetizers, so we tried the diavolo mussels which were in a nice tomato based broth with sausage slices. They were a nice sized portion plenty for 2 people. We also tried the pulled pork sliders and the fish tacos. The sliders were quite good, and were a nice size. Rich barbecue sauce with a hit of vinegar and very tender pork. Also had some slaw and fried onion straws. They didn't come with a side but if you added one you would have a nice sized meal. We were very impressed with the fish tacos, they looked a little small but were really stuffed with fish, probably could have used a slightly larger tortilla. The fish was sauteed nicely and had a little bit of spice, they also had slaw and an avocado slice.

Overall we enjoyed the Ale House and would try it again, prices might run a little high, but not out of line with similar restaurants in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bmorechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
381 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I took my wife to lunch on a Sunday in early April. The place is newly renovated and the interior is nice. There are plenty of TVs to watch sports on. I ordered a burger and fries. It was a standard pub burger. The food was good and the atmosphere was nice. In my opinion, it was a little more expensive than it should have been (10-20% more) but maybe I'm just cheap. I still recommend it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TooOldtoRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Across The Board...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you are looking for a place that has good food, great atmosphere, TV's, and outdoor seating - you found it here. The salads, starters, flatbread's and mussels are excellent. I would recommend trying them all. The main courses, the ones that I have had are good. The beer selection is great. There are many choices to make, so you will definitely find one that fits your taste buds.

I would recommend this place to everyone....

PS: Parking is tough, so use the free valet...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LarryL_CTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a wonderful place for any meal, for any occasion. They have a wonderful beer selection as well as a small but wonderful menu. We have gone there as a family with our toddler as wellas for date nights and never been disappointed by anything we've had. The service is always prompt, and friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sylwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ale House Columbia also viewed

 

Been to The Ale House Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing