We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, interesting drinks”

The Ale House Columbia
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ale House Columbia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 263 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good food, interesting drinks”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I went out with another couple late on a Tuesday night. I started with the Pineapple-Chili Margarita as suggested by our waiter and it was delicious. If you like margaritas this is an unusual flavor twist. We both had the Ale House burger which was very good and it was a large portion that I ended up taking half home with me so I could save room for dessert. The Skillet Cookie is cooked to order and it was just the right finish to our meal. We will be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10isgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    85
    32
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Local Spot”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I believe it is better than just an average ale house. The food is good, the beer is better and have a rotating set of beers frequently. They have both their Oliver ales and other craft breweries. They also sell growlers which allows you to take a beer to enjoy. Parking is bad, but it is worth the effort. They have free valet parking on the weekends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jb8865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average ale house”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This is just an average ale house. Took way too long for server to bring out a couple drinks. Food was ok, but took a long time to come out. My tacos were stone cold when they came out the first time.
Beer was significantly over-priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greymutt39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A really good find”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have been here for lunch and really enjoyed the experience. The wait staff is very competent, they know the menu, and are very smooth. No bobbles at all, they take the extra step. The food is very good, quite a leap up from the usual bar food. And the beer selection is excellent.

The only problem is parking, as others have noted. There is nowhere to park one the lot (a good-sized lot) gets full. At lunch you will likely be fine but on weekends or at night it's a different story. It is worth trying for a space though, the experience inside the restaurant is worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ivysmomMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtonsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great beer and outdoor dining”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been here several times. Last Wednesday was the first time that we ate on their outdoor patio. It is very nice. They have a bar located right near the tables. As always the food has been good! They have a limited happy hour menu, but I think the spinach artichoke dip is one of the best deals. Don't forget they take reservations on Open Table.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAKfromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ale House Columbia also viewed

 

Been to The Ale House Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing