We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I have very high standards when it comes to hotels. And once again, Hampton Inn met those standards. I have never seen a hotel lobby as large & modern as this one. You felt as if you were in a boutique hotel in NYC! The only thing we felt was missing was a small refridgerator in the guest room, like many of the hotels in this price range do have. The location was great & the room was spotless & beautiful..which is the most important thing to me! And the staff was very nice & professional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAwino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    109
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
153
79
34
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. The front desk staff was very welcoming and accommodating. I was initially scheduled to stay one night and decided to stay an additional night. My suite was well organized and comfortable - nice open space. Plenty of room. I really appreciated the self controlled thermostat. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. I plan to return as soon as time permits.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room facing the parking lot allows for visability to your vehicle/parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I don't know how this could be rated the #1 hotel in Columbia. It's far from it.

I booked a four night stay at The Hampton Inn and Suites Columbia/South based on the positive reviews here on tripadvisor. The week before our trip, I called the hotel to see if we could check in a day early. The man who took the call said the room we originally booked wasn't available, but he could put us in a king suite for $89.00 and I told him to book it. I received a confirmation email and thought everything was set. Boy, was I wrong!

After a 6+ hour drive in horrible traffic we arrived at the hotel only to be told that we didn't have a reservation. I showed the front desk clerk my confirmation email. She very coldly informed me the hotel was sold out and the person who I spoke to didn't complete my reservation and we were out of luck. There is a softball playoff in town and the hotels were booked up. I explained that we had a long day, and asked if there was anything they could do. She tried to call a manager at home, but to no avail. I asked her to leave a message for him to call me ASAP. I did not relish being stranded in Columbia, Maryland on a Saturday night. I never heard from the manager. The clerk showed absolutely no concern for our situation. The lack of customer service skills this young woman demonstrated was unacceptable. How do you NOT have a manager with authority on the property for a sold out Saturday night? AND no one available to call in the event you have a problem?

The Hampton Inn shares a parking lot with Marriott's SpringHill Suites. I called there on the off chance they had a cancellation for the night. Luckily, they had one room left. Not only were they completely professional and courteous, the hotel was much nicer, and they matched the room rate at the other hotel dispute the regular rate being much higher.

As a footnote, the Hampton Inn lobby was small, and you couldn't even tell where the front desk was. It looked more like a kiosk. In contrast, the SpringHill Suites lobby is warm and inviting with a bright, modern look and well trained, professional staff.

Shame on the Hampton Inn for treating us so shabbily. You've lost our business and I'll make it my business to let people know.

Room Tip: Get names! If you decide to stay there make sure you know who took your reservation and confirm and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radiiochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoryCartwright, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff as prior reviews can demonstrate. We are investigating and addressing the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disputanta, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Hotel staff was very helpful and the hotel is very new. Rooms were spotless and linens were clean and fresh. A/C worked great. Front desk gave us great recommendations and directions for local sites and the manager was kind and polite. Will certainly return to this Hampton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank SaraP120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great place. Stayed for 5 nights. All staff members were very friendly and helpful for the entire stay. Beautiful, updated room. King suite was PERFECT for two people to share. Pull-out bed was very comfortable, and easy to access/put away. Nice large desk, easy for two people to be at the desk at once. Free full breakfast, with a very nice selection.

Room Tip: Go for the king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlleyN_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoryCartwright, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate your time and are pleased to hear how great your stay was. We will share your comments with our team and celebrate the successes that we have brought to you and many others with a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had business near Baltimore and needed to fly out of BWI, so I chose this Hampton Inn. It is a very new property and very contemporary. The staff was very friendly and professional. The breakfast was excellent and the sweet shop was huge with lots of snacks and options. The internet connection was free and FAST. And there are several great restaurants nearby. This hotel is definitely one of the best Hamptons I have ever stayed in. It is about 15 - 20 minute drive from the airport. Very convenient. I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My room, excellent. Loved the bed, TV, The small area with microwave, refrigerator and sink was just what we needed. The bed was so comfortable it's got me thinking I need a new one. Just enough items to choose from at breakfast. Try I you'll like it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank MsPhillyRhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
4.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
Address: 7045 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/South hotel in Columbia, MD, located only 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI), offering quality amenities, superior service and contemporary accommodations. This Hampton Inn & Suites hotel has 124 guest rooms and offers free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and parking. Enjoy other amenities including access to our 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, 24-hour fitness center, or swim in the indoor pool. Be near popular Columbia, MD attractions including the Columbia Horse Center, Columbia Ice Rink, Golfing at Hobbit's Glen and Fairway Hills, Savage Mill Shopping Center and Terrapin Adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing