We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is amazing from the appearance to the quality of the staff. My family and I have stayed here twice. We will choose this hotel anytime we are in the DMV area. Worth the price and the complimentary breakfast is great, there is variety of items that you can enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Shabazz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 535 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Clean and efficient hotel. Staff extremely helpful and attentive. Breakfast was adequate but not great. Parking lot was spacious but could use a little more lighting. Location is close to stores and highways.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the nicest Hampton Inn I've ever stayed in. The lobby and room decor was modern and tasteful. The lobby area was beautiful. The indoor pool was a saltwater pool which eliminated the usual, overpowering chlorine smell. The complimentary breakfast was tasty and provided a nice variety.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank jennifereD82NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you're looking for a clean, friendly, affordable hotel to stay in the Columbia area, look no further. I've stayed at some very nice hotels (Hilton, Hyatt, Marriott) with all the amenities in my travels but this one is by far the best for customer service I've experienced...EVER. Hotel is fairly new and is kept spotless. The staff is very friendly and more than accommodating. If there was a rating above Excellent, this Hampton Inn would get it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoryCartwright, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We take a lot of pride in our team and our efforts to be one of the best hotels around. I will share your comments with our team as we consistently like to learn from both the good and the bad. Your feedback will definitely be a positive reinforcement for their efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. The staff couldn't do a better job! Here are some extra characters to make the tripadvisor review happy. No one likes to write novels without being paid.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed here for business for three nights last week and it meets my needs as a business traveller to a tee. Well stocked pantry downstairs with a quick bite to eat and beer/wine for nights when I need to just sit in the room and work. Within a couple of miles of any retail/restaurant you'd ever want. Near the interstate, exceptionally friendly and accommodating staff. Free internet and parking. Allowed me to focus on the business at hand. I don't want hassles when I am staying in a motel for the week, and this one took all that stress out of the equation. I will stay there whenever I am in that town, and I am not even at the top of this chain's points program. I typically seek out Hyatt Place or one of the Marriott brands, but this specific Hampton Inn is at the top of my list now.

Room Tip: They upgraded me to a suite, for no reason (I am not a preferred customer there) and it was the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is a brand new Hampton Inn. Very clean and shiny. The staff was great. The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars is because in typical Hampton Inn fashion, they ruin the breakfast every time. Why can't they just make scrambled eggs, and let the guest add their own accouterments. I hate when they mix stuff in with the eggs. If I'm able to add my own sugar and cream to my coffee, to bring it my liking, then I can probably handle doing the same with my eggs. STOP thinking for me Hampton Inn. Also, Western omelets, really??? Bagel toppers? The bagels are there. Let me top them. I don't want some pencil pusher deciding what I want on my bagel. I avoid Hampton Inn like the plague because of the breakfast. And where do they get that onion skin thin bacon from anyway? It looks like it should be in a science lab under a microscope. And the Turkey Sausage, yeah, I said it, Turkey Sausage. Enough said.
Wake up Hampton Inn. Fix the breakfast, and I'm there every time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRealDeal_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
499 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
#8 of 12 in Columbia
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South

Address: 7045 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046-1907
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Price Range: $91 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia/South hotel in Columbia, MD, located only 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI), offering quality amenities, superior service and contemporary accommodations. This Hampton Inn & Suites hotel has 124 guest rooms and offers free WiFi, free hot breakfast, and parking. Enjoy other amenities including access to our 24-hour business center, on-site convenience store, 24-hour fitness center, or swim in the indoor pool. Be near popular Columbia, MD attractions including the Columbia Horse Center, Columbia Ice Rink, Golfing at Hobbit's Glen and Fairway Hills, Savage Mill Shopping Center and Terrapin Adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing