We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best lamb ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Mediterranean Grill

Rudy's Mediterranean Grill
7185 Gateway Dr Suite D, Columbia, MD
410-290-2004
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rudy's Mediterranean Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 249 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 175
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best lamb ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

As we walked in the front door, the couple coming out said "this place is great!". They were right. Rudy greeted us right away and even recognized my friend from all the times she had been in the Double T diner in Ellicott City. We were seated immediately and given menus. The place was jam-packed with two 30+ groups and a third group that was just coming in, but the service was good anyway. We ordered Grilled Lamb Adana and Incik Kebab and both were awesome. This was the best lamb I have ever had! The rice was very well flavored and even the Lentil soup and green salad were excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CorvairGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    34
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed, comfortable and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This restaurant is hidden in a strip mall atmosphere but once you walk in there is a comfortable atmosphere as the wait staff is friendly and helpful, the food is interesting and tasty and one receives great value for the cost. That lentil soup was great and the lamb equally so.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Rudy's mediterranean grill is the top of delicious. I had dinner and breakfast with my wife and daughter. Grills are delicious. Breakfast is also. Rudy is a very hospitable person. Atmosphere is good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yildirayerdogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“wonderful Turkish food & drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We've been here three times, twice with the kids and tonight on our own and each time the food has been outstanding. The house Turkish wine is a nice dry red -- akin to an Italian table red. The entrees all come with salad and soup and the soups are delicious. Entrees include lamb, beef, chicken, fish, and vegetarian options and there are Turkish-style pizzas if you have a picky kid with you. There are some wonderful traditional Turkish appetizers available as well. When you sit down, the waiter brings water right away, and a bread basket with flatbread and a plate of herbed olive oil. This is a nice touch as some restaurants leave us sitting for a long time with nothing to drink.

My husband and I chose two different entrees and split them; the waiter offered to bring us extra plates, but we were able to use our bread plates.

Columbia restaurants tend to lack authenticity (when unique) and ambiance, but Rudy's does a good job with both. I'd have preferred to listen to Turkish music rather than the oldies they were playing, but I haven't found any Columbia "ethnic" restaurants that play music from the country of origin.

They're in the process of remodeling, knocking down walls to make the room more spacious. While I liked the intimate feeling of the previous design, this new layout will enable them to host larger parties.

I recommend Rudy's to anyone going on a date night, or taking the family out for a nice (nicer than usual with kids) meal.
They're website is: http://www.rmgrill.com/
They offer carry-out and Sunday brunch as well. The lunch menu offers a mix of Turkish entrees and American subs and sandwiches (burgers, wraps, deli sandwiches, etc.). The breakfast menu seems to be the same as a diner might offer -- eggs, pancakes, etc.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Illysa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Excellent food and service that gets better each time I go. Had delicious shrimp salad and wife had delicious Greek salad.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing