We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good food, nice atmosphere and Rudy is always there to greet you!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rudy's Mediterranean Grill

Rudy's Mediterranean Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Rudy's Mediterranean Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 254 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 175
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere and Rudy is always there to greet you!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This restaurant is kind of hidden but the food is really good, great hummus, nice atmosphere and everyone is very friendly. The lentil soup is one of my favorites!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank soosyrado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    35
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland, US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little bit of Turkey in Columbia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Rudi runs a great little restaurant, very casual, genuine Turkish dishes, fabulous baklava, and if you go on the weekend you have to try the Branzino fish! We've only been going for about a year and love this place.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not only authentic Turkish dishes, but the best classic Amiercan diner breakfast ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

In my youth I lived a couple of years in Turkey and loved the food. Until I visited Rudy's I could never duplicate the experience. From appetizers to desserts and beers to wines Rudy's is authentic and delicious. The chef is from Istanbul and the wait staff are held to a high standard of training in proper customer service. Rudy and the chef both worked at a Double T diner, so their rendition of traditional American diner breakfasts is outstanding. Sunday brunch is a weekly tradition for my wife and me. Once a month Rudy has a Turkish night with Turkish music and belly dancing adding to the atmosphere. Don't miss it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WilliamM624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

The $16.95 lamb dish tasted like ground lamb, for $2.00 extra we received yogurt on top of bread (geez!). The $21.95 Shish Kabob was a super small portion with white rice and a small salad - it had zero flavor. We had to ask for drink refills and more bread, one drink was just water. I honestly get more food and flavor at Maiwand Kabob for less money. I understand that this place is Turkish, maybe Turkish food in general is on the bland side. Our server was very nice but the food did not deliver the mouth fireworks that I was hoping for from a mediterranean restaurant ... I really wanted to like this place but I didn't.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This is the "real deal"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We recently had dinner for the first time at Rudy's and must say it was excellant. We had visited Istanbul in Turkey the previous year and eaten some great meals there. But I have to say this restaurant comes as close as possible to being the "real deal" for authentic turkish and mediterranian food this side of the Atlantic. The service and presentation were all very good and the red house wine from Turkey was also very good. Yes, it is located in a "sterile" corporate business park, but once your'e inside and you bite into the food and drink the wine you forget all that. Will definitely make a return visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing