We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent food and wine, warm and friendly staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Mediterranean Grill

Rudy's Mediterranean Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Rudy's Mediterranean Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 252 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Route 175
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food and wine, warm and friendly staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant has a sophisticated but relaxed atmosphere. My friends and I were there for an evening meal. The lunch scene may be much more crowded, since this is surrounded by a huge office park. But it was ideal for us to linger and talk. They laid a large table for us, and the food, which includes seafood but also great salads and a few vegetarian options, was really imaginative and delicious. There were some Turkish options, including stuffed grape leaves (something you rarely see on a menu).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seacoastmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    35
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“All Kinds of Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rudy's is a relatively new restaurant that specializes in Turkish food, but that sells great non-Turkish breakfast food as well. I've also had lunch at Rudy's and found it to be excellent as well. I've had omlettes of different types for both breakfast and lunch and always found them to be hot, well cooked, and well presented. Omlettes come with grill fried potatos that are almost always excellent. Cooking potatoes on the grill and serving them in a thin layer makes it very easy for them to get cold; however, Rudy's manages to get them to the table while hot.Rudy's serves excellent regular coffee as well as Turkish coffee, which is considerably more potent, but very good. There is a bar menu that includes a selection of wines and beers.

While lunch at Rudy's can be fairly busy, service is quick and efficient and I've never had to wait for a table any lenght of time. The wait staff has always been quite friendly and helpful when I've been there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BizDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Rudy's Mediterranean Grill has both excellent food and service. The portions are large and filling.
The lamb chops and the fish (bolonzini?) were specially good. The rice is surprising moist. The bread is so good, you could dine on that alone. The lentil soup is also excellent. The staff is eager to answer all you questions and explain all the dishes to you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best lamb chops! Great food overall.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We went to this restaurant because of a groupon, but we couldn't be happier with our service and food. The restaurant is in a small out of the way shopping center that we never would have found otherwise. We went on a fairly quiet night; so the service was great and the waitress took the time to explain best dishes to us. We got all of our food in a timely manner.

We ordered the Turkish appetizer made with eggplant (which I can't remember the name) , the red lentil soup, the falafel appetizer, lamb chops and the moussaka. I was impressed by the flavors of all of the dishes; everything overall was tasty. The falafels were a little dry, but tasted better with the yogurt sauce. We opted for the lamb chops, which were seasoned and grilled to perfection. For that alone, we will definitely be coming back. The lamb chops, by far were the best lamb chops I've ever had. Yes, it was a little more expensive for the lamb chops, but I felt it was well worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maiy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
234 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Interesting food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We went to Rudy's tonight. They seem to be mostly focused on Turkish foods, but with some other selections. Our order was two Turkish beers, one light beer for my wife and a dark beer for me. Both were good, and suited out respective tastes.

For our meal we each ordered a kabob platter. She had a chicken Shish kabob platter and I had a mixed kebob platter. Both came with a fresh salad with a vinaigrette dressing plus basmatic rice. The meats were marinated and had good flavor. Each platter has eight cubes, a bit more than 1 inch per side -- quite ample serving, and in fact we took some home for next day. My dish had four chicken, two beef and two lamb kabobs. The chicken was more tender than the other meats but all tasted quite good.

They served a fresh bread with a very nice crispy crust and a shallow plate with olive oil and balsamic vinegar. The bread was good on its own, and the tang of the vinegar and oil mixture was also tasty.

The service was quite good. The main person greeted us at the door quickly, explained choices and checked back to see how thing were -- but was not obtrusive.

The menu has a number of interesting lunch items, subs and sandwiches, as well as a pretty good looking breakfast menu.

Total bill before tax and tip was $42.40.

This is a place we will probably go back to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Mediterranean Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing