We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value, Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, VA, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Great Value, Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. The separate door to our bedroom was a big plus. Also, the price was the best we've seen! The full kitchen was a wonderful plus. We were able to bring our own meals and save on restaurant costs. (Though there were three great restaurants within walking distance.) We'd definitely stay at a Homewood Suites again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    170
    57
    35
    15
See reviews for
269
84
32
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great accommodations, with room to spread out a little, relax, work and prep a meal if necessary. Great complimentary breakfast, with a quick evening meal service as well. Walking distance to TGI Fridays, Olive Garden & Bob Evens. Great location - close access to the freeway, with a gas station nearby and a small shopping mall a half mile away. Free shuttle bus too! Plenty of parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank CuriousCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I will start by saying that this is one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed in. But no amount of cleanliness makes up for downright terrible customer service. Most of the front desk staff was horrible, the "Free shuttle service" was horrible, and when I attempted to speak to a manager and ask for the services to be improved, I was told that the manager was not around, and "sorry that you are frustrated", and then I was just stared at like that was the end of the conversation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager8320, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

I want to first thank you for your recent stay at our hotel, though it was an unpleasant one. I know it has been a while since you wrote this review, but I am jsut getting back from being away.

I am not sure what happened with our complimentary shuttle service, nor why our front desk person could not handle it in a more profesional manner. Accoding to the time of day, a manager should have been available. And if not, a manager shuld have been in contact with you upon their return to property.

I do welcome the opportunity to speak with you, so that a viable solution to this issue can be made. At your convienence, please contact the hotel and ask for me so this issue can be discussed further.

Sincerly,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

I would give this hotel an average rating altogether. I stayed there with my wife and young child while we vistied family in the area. The room was clean, the bathroom was spotless, and the bed was very comfortable. There's plenty of parking, and there are 3 chain restaurants on the same street, all within walking distance. There were 4 , but the Applebees closed in april and is now vacant. The breakfast was plentiful, and the eating area was large enough to accomodate a lot more guests than what I am used to seeing at other hotels that offer free breakfast. However, I couldn't understand why the little things were skimped: no cream provided for the coffee, only "non-dairy creamer". Grapefruit was simply cut in half and tossed into a bowl. To actually eat one, you had to take the time to cut it up yourself with a plastic knife. My biggest disappoiintment was the room size. It's advertised as a suite but it is very small, to the point of making me feel claustrophobic. After a long trip, I would have like to find a spot on the floor to stretch out my back, but there wasn't one big enough to accomodate my frame (I'm 6'3""). At bedtime, it was hard to find a decent place to put my 2 year old's pack and play. The sink is in the bedroom which only adds to the feeling of being cramped. You can expect to hear everything in the hallway--slamming doors, people talking--- and in the room upstairs from you. OK for a one night stay I suppose, and certainly fine for a solo traveler who spends minimal time in the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Ok hotel. Elevator carpet needs a deep clean. Free breakfast is ok. Could do with less watery oatmeal. Comforter cover does not entirely close in the comforter so make sure you have a flat sheet as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 365theresas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed at the above hotel during a recent Business Trip and found that all hotel staff were excellent with any dealing I had with them. They were helpful in all matter I dealt with. The Breakfast was great and aways warm and plently full excellent job

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

All I need to say is don't not leave anything out you don't want touched or stolen. Other than that this hotel was very nice, good location, updated furnishing and well maintained. They do need to put a larger garbage can in the kitchen though. Oh Yeah and hire English speaking US citizens to do the housekeeping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
3.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Columbia
Courtyard Columbia
#9 of 12 in Columbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Address: 8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#2 Family Hotel in Columbia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#6 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Homewood Suites Columbia
Homewood Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Columbia Hilton
Columbia Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing