We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth serious consideration for leisure or business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
N/A, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth serious consideration for leisure or business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Excellent value for the dollar. Warm and welcoming. Clean, well appointed suites. Location near I-95 offers easy access for travelers. Within walking distance to restaurants and shopping centers. Business center is very convenient for internet interaction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    156
    52
    33
    12
See reviews for
241
75
29
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family and I (6 total) were stranded because our house had a busted pipe. Homewood was a perfect fit for us. We got two suites and they were like min-apts for us. The best thing of all, they offer breakfast and dinner! How awesome is that! Staff was excellent and the hotel was in excellent condition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I came to this hotel last year and it was great! This year not so much, dinner was a horrible experience the food is bland and the service is horrible! The last time we stayed it was a lady working in the kitchen by herself and dinner was excellent! She was a asset to this company. I asked about her and was told she no longer works here! I will not be staying at this hotel anymore when I come to columbia! A little advice for management good help is hard to find, you lost one of the best things about your hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbrown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NormanE45, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hello,

On behalf of the staff and management of HWS-Columbia, Iwould like to thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay.

I am saddened that you choose not to stay at our hotel because our previous hostess made the hard choice of leaving us to take care of her gravely ill family member. We tried hard to replace the position with someone as capable, friendly and engaging as she was but like you said as a "little advise" good help is hard to find. We do acknowledge we lost one of the best things about our hotel. I have made mention of this review to our manager and we are looking into making hte necessary alterations in this area.

Again, I am sad that you will not be returning as a guest for "one thing", but please know we continue to work hard to maintain a clean, secure and friendly hotel for our guests.


Sincerely,
Norman Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family, (me, husband, 2 teenage boys) stayed here 1 night after attending a concert at the Merriweather Post Pavilion in Columbia, which is about 15 minutes away. The room was very clean and there was plenty of room for all of us. We had two queen beds plus the sofa bed, so the boys did not have to share a bed, which they appreciated. If you are going to be staying several days, the full kitchen is great, but we didn't make use of it. Also, breakfast is included, although the "scrambled eggs" tasted nothing like any eggs I've ever had. The beds were very comfortable and there were plenty of extra pillows. The bathroom sink is outside the toilet/tub area, which is nice when you have several people trying to get ready at once. The water pressure was just OK in the shower. There are several restaurants right across the street, and they sell frozen dinners in the lobby if you would rather stay in your room. All in all, a good value. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Where else can you get a Managers Reception, a full breakfast and a 2 room suite? When we travel Homewood suites is always a good choice for value and service. This location had a friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms and a nice outdoor pool. One of the staff members helped my daughter carry her bags since she was carrying her 1 year old. The desk people truly looked happy. The food servers were very hard working people. The reception that night was Asian beef and rice with a salad bar. There was iced tea and lemonaid to drink. Breakfast consisted of sausage ,eggs , pancakes, oatmeal, yogurt, bagels etc. When you factor in these perks the hotel is very affordable and very, very relaxing. The make you feel at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler33951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel is a great location.The location of the hotel which is in Columbia, Maryland you are close to the interstate and also not far from the metro station. You can get a ride into the DC area. They also have lovely restaurants around the hotel if you do chose to eat out, you have a couple of very good grocery store like Trader Joe, you've got a Costco and a Wells Fargo bank in the area and all these are located 1-2mins from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ifeoma E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night (July 13th). It was great! Both rooms of our suite were very clean. The bathroom was spotless, which is very important to me. The king sized bed was so comfortable. We would definitely stay here again and we highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Columbia, MD. Two thumbs up for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caribbean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#3 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia
3.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Address: 8320 Benson Dr, Columbia, MD 21045-3116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Columbia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#6 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Columbia Hotel Columbia
Homewood Suites Columbia
Homewood Columbia
Hilton Columbia
Columbia Homewood Suites
Columbia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing