We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and very nice rooms with a great breakfast.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent staff and very nice rooms with a great breakfast.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great stay and a great price. You get more than what you pay for. Peaceful and nice surroundings. Close to shopping areas and great resturants. The landscape is nice especially the hotel lobby. It has a fireplace (gas). The pool area is great if you like to swim or the hot spa. Best time to go is after tourist season and then you have th pool area to yourself.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    97
    57
    20
    22
See reviews for
86
72
31
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

This property is not new, but my room was mostly clean and updated. Very nice staff, and a good location for my business needs. In-room Wifi worked great which was essential to me. Room temperature control worked well and wasn't too noisy. Room was nicely sized and appointed. Bed was comfy, and my top-floor corner room was quiet. I liked the mini-fridge. I appreciated the small specialty drink samples and cookies on the check-in counter. The happy hour seemed very popular, and breakfast was made-to-order.
Just a few glitches: 1. The fire alarm went off in the middle of the first night there. It was a false alarm, and I understand this has happened before at this hotel. If I were the manager, I would do *everything* to solve this technical issue. We did receive a "Sorry for any inconvenience..." letter under our doors, so okay, they apologized. 2. My corporate Travel Agent stated that they had negotiated breakfast to be included in my rate, but that turned out not to be the case. If breakfast is important to you, you might call ahead. 3. My bed had someone elses' hairs in it (about 3 long black hairs, whereas I have short blond hair), and the bathroom wall (around the toilet) had some nasty spots... I would think they would use wallpaper that can be effectively cleaned. 4. The hair dryer in my bathroom had a switch that must be held in continuously for the dryer to work - this aggravated my carpal tunnel but that is minor.
All in all it was pretty good for this area, and I would probably stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the pond is quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineR270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
779 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 911 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was a very clean place. very accommodating staff. A quiet place, great breakfast included. well located. Really a find. I stayed two days, my friends three . I have never been in Columbia Maryland before, we visited an old friend, found this place online. (actually my wife did) We all had pleasant stays.
Jeremy T

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
351 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Love my Hilton points! HGI is the same in every city...you know what you are getting which is dependable and a good thing. This location is convenient...not too far off of Rt. 95. Complimentary coffee & Tea were off to the side of the check in desk, cookies were waiting on the counter...and also on the check in counter was a small sample of a specialty drink from the bar...I like that! These little touches are appreciated after the long travel & traffic! I Thought the drink sample from the bar was a nice marketing idea for the bar too! The rooms were comfy and clean...mini fridge, coffee pot, and microwave. Flat screen TV in a cupboard...which you could NOT see if sitting at the desk...TV did not pull out and swivel like other locations. One thing I did not like was, I heard talking and the TV from the room next door. Walls were a bit thin. There are a couple restaurants close by but you pretty much have to get in your car to do things. Not much in walking distance. I have stayed here a few times for business travel and it works out fine. I just prefer a hotel in walking distance to more stuff...I am in my car too much and when I get to the hotel I hate to get back in it! Overall, I do recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shersei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Clean rooms and everything is nice and convenient.

Didn't notice it until we the last day but the couches and chairs in the common areas on thee main floor have some rips and tears.
Really the only eyesore in the whole place

Very friendly and professional staff


Great snacks

Food was awesome (the cook, big black guy, is super nice and cooks up some good chow !)

Service was the very best of any hotel that i have ever stayed at
Each and everyone of the ladies and gents who work in the kitchen/bar/dining area deserve a real pat on the back. You never have to ask for a drink or anything, they are always there before you can even have to ask.
All of them are friendly and greet you with a smile.
Wish I got all their names but there was Tracy and a younger black girl
and young red haired German girl. They were all so nice and are the most attentive and hard working staff I have ever had the pleasure of being around.


Maintenance guy is also friendly but i do think it strange to see him delivering meals to the table sometimes (one minute he has a wrench or a mop, the next minute he is brining you a plate of bacon and eggs LOL !)

Next time I am in the area I will be sure and stay here and nowhere else

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hiplainsdrifters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Room was clean and well appointed.maid service good. Breakfast had large menu and was a good value. Other food opportunities nearby. The location is convenient to all of Columbia. This is good value particularly with their low weekend rates. One suggestion is that they install treads in the tub as it was very slippery.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Good hotel except that the fire alarm went off several times one night. Did not look like the staff on duty really knew what to do.... Had her head down on the computer while guests were walking around confused as to what was happening. There could have been someone letting people know that it was a false alarm and apologizing. Had it been a real fire, would there have only been one staff person around??? After we went back to our room the alarm went off a few more times and then the light continued to flash inside our room for quite some time. The next morning the very least there could have been a sign with an apology but nothing was acknowledged. Pretty poor handling of this situation. I shudder to think what if there was a real fire???

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Singusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George P, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Columbia, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I’m sorry we were not able to provide you with a satisfactory experience during your recent stay and if you were given any impression that our concern was anything but to correct the problem quickly and to everyone satisfaction. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the fire alarm situation you and your family encountered. Let me assure you that every effort was made to resolve the situation as quickly as possible, and that our alarm servicing company made every effort to locate their technician, he was unfortunately was not able to be reached until 3:00 AM and arrived at the hotel at 3:45 AM. It is unfortunate at there was a breakdown in their system. Additionally it was me who called the fire department and insisted that they come out when it was evident that no one was going to leave the lobby till they verified what was already known that these were false alarms and there was a problem in the system which needed to be resolved by a trained technician. Rest assured that had there been anything I could have done to correct the problem without violating the city or county ordinances I would have done that immediately. In every other case of false alarms they can be resolved within 30 minutes. We can assure you this was an isolated incident that we do not expect to happen again soon. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
1.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Columbia

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Columbia
Address: 8241 Snowden River Pkwy, Columbia, MD 21045-1947
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#6 Family Hotel in Columbia
#8 Business Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing