We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Green through and through” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robinson Nature Center

Robinson Nature Center
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Robinson Nature Center is a unique nature education facility with fun for the whole family. The Center is a LEED platinum certified green building situated on 18 acres of land. Attractions include: - Solar panels, green roof, and a host of other sustainable technologies - 2 stories of interactive, multi-sensory exhibits - A "NatureSphere" digital planetarium and full-dome movie theater - A Children's Discovery Room with hands-on activities - An outdoor Nature Place play area for kids - Numerous demonstration gardens featuring native plants - A mile of walking trails with views of the Middle Patuxent River - Access to the historical Simpsonville Mill Ruins Each year, the Center runs over 450 programs including field trips, public programs, birthday parties, home school and scout programs.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Green through and through”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great educational oppotunity for the whole family. The planetarium is a must see. Many hands on activities for youngsters.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Toucanfran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    15
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
“Awesome Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I visited with my brother and I really enjoyed it. Although it is mostly geared for kids, it was still an educational experience. We both learned a lot and enjoyed the nature trails. This place will be even better after they finish the trails (it looks like they are cutting down trees so they can plant some native plants. There are blank plaques everywhere so they can put up information about the plants along the trails. It also looks like they are planting in the gardens. I would highly suggest that people of all ages should visit. It was well worth the $5! You might want to wait until it's summertime so that the plants will have time to bloom along the trails.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank horselover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An oasis!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This fairly new Howard County park facility was built to be an eco-friendly and educational destination. Landscaping took advantage of the natural topography, and includes native plantings. The building houses workshops and educational displays. Great place for a picnic lunch and to take children for enviro9nmental lessons.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank HospitalitySeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's beautiful, natured class room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spring, Summer, Fall! Never been here in the Winter, and almost in my back door! Field trips, nature walks, exhibits, and it holds alot of people!

Oh they have playgrounds also!

Helpful?
Thank Debora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture & very educational”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went here as a company outing...if you're into "green and sustainable" buildings -- then this one is a 'must-see'!! I learned a lot before even walking through the exhibits. Once we did though I was a little disappointed. Hopefully, there will be more on the horizon...but everything they are doing for the environment is great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LMHill71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robinson Nature Center also viewed

 

Been to Robinson Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing