We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We didn't try the ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Corner Stable

Corner Stable
Reserve with OpenTable
Corner Stable is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 251 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Eden Brook Dr.
Transit: Howard County Transit
Description: The Corner Stable is a long standing tradition for great food and great service. We are family friendly and can accommodate larger parties and business events. We are known for our Fall off the bone Baby Back Ribs and Colossal Lump Crab Cakes and include many other great items. We also offer a full bar with over 20 Draft beers and a wide selection of premium spirits and house infused vodkas. Reservations are accepted but not required.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
168 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“We didn't try the ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The crab cakes were very good (one of our group has lived in Maryland in the past). Service was as expected. Beer selection is limited though satisfactory.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UglyBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornerStable, Manager at Corner Stable, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments! We appreciate reviews as a way to help us grow! We change our beer selections with the seasons and try to keep up with the new and popular brews, so we hope you'll stop in soon to try some more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    55
    30
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Crabcakes!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I went with a friend and we shared, so I was able to try a few different things.

The crabcake was delicious. It was packed with crabmeat. Is it the best I have ever had? Close. I really like Timbuktu's crabcake, but this is a close runner-up. It had lump crab in it, but it wasn't ALL lumb crab. However, it was definitely worth the price of admission. Not much filler and good spices.

The ribs were good. However, for a "rack" of ribs, there just wasn't all that much. Our ribs didn't look like the above picture. We got the hot bbq, and they were tasty and fall off the bone.

The bloomin onion thing was good, too. Now I love onions, but this was not a sweet onion at all. Kind of potent, imo. The spicy sauce was delicious.

The sides were blah. I got a salad and asked if it had iceberg or mixed greens and the waitress said mixed. It really was iceberg with a little bit of romaine, very little. it tasted like lettuce in the bag at the grocery store that was in the bag a little too long.

My friend got the mac and cheese and I am pretty sure it came from a box.

Green beans - again not good - probably frozen and I don't like frozen green beans. Had a funny taste and were not crisp.

I wouldn't make a special trip back. If I was in the area, I would drop by for a crabcake, for sure. I like my own ribs better :-) but if I didn't feel like making them myself, these would do. The employees were very pleasant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious food, brought fast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The food was great, best ribs of Baltimore. Crabcake was delish and was all about the crab. Not too expensive.
Service was fast, exactly when you want it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OsakaHugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Second Time Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Took the family here some time ago and wanted to check them out again. Went again today and was as satisfied as the first time. Crab cakes alone will make you want to come back. The Corner Stable is on my list for "Return Visits"

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank timamu2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“very nice, casual dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived in Columbia on a Saturday afternoon. We were looking for a place the locals would eat at. The desk clerk at our hotel suggested this place. The hostess was very friendly. It's located in a nice shopping area. We waiting about ten minutes for a table even though they didn't seem very busy. My son got the turkey sandwich which looked good. It came with potatoes and gravy. We shared a rib and crab cake combo. The crab cake was very good with lots of lovely chunks of crab. I would have liked some type of tartar sauce or something with it. Hubby said the ribs were good. It came with two sides and we got broccoli and green beans. Service wasn't the best but our waitress was pregnant so we'll give her a pass for that.

Dessert was a cream puff with chocolate ganache which was good but not out of this world.

All in all a decent place but not outstanding. I thought the crab cakes at Timbuctu were much better but these were more than adequate. Probably wouldn't be my "go to" place here but I could recommend it for a nice relaxed dinner with the family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank radiiochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corner Stable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing