We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Around”
Review of Corner Stable

Corner Stable
Reserve with OpenTable
Corner Stable is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 261 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Eden Brook Dr.
Transit: Howard County Transit
Description: The Corner Stable is a long standing tradition for great food and great service. We are family friendly and can accommodate larger parties and business events. We are known for our Fall off the bone Baby Back Ribs and Colossal Lump Crab Cakes and include many other great items. We also offer a full bar with over 20 Draft beers and a wide selection of premium spirits and house infused vodkas. Reservations are accepted but not required.
Joppa, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Second Time Around”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Took the family here some time ago and wanted to check them out again. Went again today and was as satisfied as the first time. Crab cakes alone will make you want to come back. The Corner Stable is on my list for "Return Visits"

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timamu2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    68
    41
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Center Moriches, New York
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“very nice, casual dining”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived in Columbia on a Saturday afternoon. We were looking for a place the locals would eat at. The desk clerk at our hotel suggested this place. The hostess was very friendly. It's located in a nice shopping area. We waiting about ten minutes for a table even though they didn't seem very busy. My son got the turkey sandwich which looked good. It came with potatoes and gravy. We shared a rib and crab cake combo. The crab cake was very good with lots of lovely chunks of crab. I would have liked some type of tartar sauce or something with it. Hubby said the ribs were good. It came with two sides and we got broccoli and green beans. Service wasn't the best but our waitress was pregnant so we'll give her a pass for that.

Dessert was a cream puff with chocolate ganache which was good but not out of this world.

All in all a decent place but not outstanding. I thought the crab cakes at Timbuctu were much better but these were more than adequate. Probably wouldn't be my "go to" place here but I could recommend it for a nice relaxed dinner with the family.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank radiiochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ladies night out”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

They have seasonal specialty menus with drinks and food. My friends and I went out Chris was the bartender. He made us one of the best margaritas I have ever had. We also tried the mojitos which were so good. For dinner they recommended the blackened catfish which was to die for.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrific Crab Cake”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife, daughter and myself just had the Wednesday Crab Cake and fries special for $14.99.
What a deal. The 1/2 pound crab cake was full of lump crab meat and it was delicious. The fries were good too. I am not sure how they serve a crab cake that full of lump meat at that price, but more power to them.
I would put the Corner Stable crab cake up against Fraidley's crab cake (Lexington Market in Baltimore) as it is that GOOD. My wife and I live on the Eastern Shore so I would think we are a fairly good judge of crab cakes.
The service was fast and courteous and we will be back. They had plenty of big screen tv's so we could check the scores of the O's and Caps.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Frugaldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessup, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I used the Corner Stable as our rehearsal dinner sight. It was a wonderful experience. Not a traditional "fancy" style, but that is not what we were going for. The crabcakes and ribs are absolutely amazing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner Stable also viewed

 

Been to Corner Stable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing