We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Taj

Royal Taj
Ranked #1 of 260 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I took my wife to Royal Taj for our anniversary. I had heard good things but we had never been there before. The meal was delicious and was definitely the best Indian food, I have had in the area. Even better than the food was the service, we felt welcomed from the moment we walked in. The waiters were extremely attentive and helpful. My wife was offered an extra glass of wine on the house and we were brought a small dessert at the end of our meal. Overall, it was a great experience and we will surely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    69
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Royal Taj is the best Indian restaurant in the area. The food was wonderful and delicious. The service was exceptional and our order came out very quickly. The atmosphere and environment was very cozy and nice. We were even offered a glass of wine on the house for having to wait longer than 20 mins on a friday night. But the hospitality of Bindha Singh was what made the experience the best. He made you feel welcome and like an old friend. My wife and I will definitely be back. One of our new favorite places in Columbia.

Helpful?
Thank djbarden41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Wonderful food in a local strip mall. Excellent service. Everything fresh and well prepared. Welcoming to new and old guest alike. Lunchtime buffet delightful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“OMFG!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This place hands down AWESOMESAUCE. Service unreal. They comped us stuff even though absolutely nothing was wrong and everything was extra perfect.

Everything's great. My personal favorite, murg makani (butter chicken) is some of the best I've ever had

Very busy. What a terrific surprise in this Comumbia strip mall.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahdim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NJ
Level Contributor
567 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently moved our daughter from Towson to Columbia and needed a place for dinner . We decided on Royal Taj, and when we told our daughter our choice, she was delighted, because she has been there for lunch with co-workers and loved the food.

We arrived slightly before 8 pm on a Saturday. This is a time we NEVER go to a restaurant. However, due to moving from one place to another, unloading the moving van and then going to our hotel, that was when we could dine. We tried to make a reservation, but they were not accepting reservations at that time, which we certainly understand.

We thought the maitre d' did an excellent job of managing the people who were in line for a table. He was very friendly and welcoming and seemed genuinely concerned that all diners have a positive experience. We did wait 15 minutes or so, but suddenly people were finishing, and several tables opened up at once. We managed to get a booth. Very comfortable!

The complimentary chutneys and papardum started off the meal. Very interesting chutneys! When our entrees came, my huaband and I could not believe how moist our Tandoori chicken was. We have had Tandoori chicken in a lot of Indian restaurants, and the Royal Taj version is right up there at the top. Our chana masala had just the right amount of heat (we asked for it medium), and the spices, including cinnamon, were an excellent blend. The chana masala definitely was NOT greasy.

Servers constantly refilled water glasses. Overall, service was excellent as was everyone's food. We know where we will be going for dinner next time we visit our daughter in Columbia!

Only complaint....it was a bit dark in the restaurant. Hard to see the menu and even harder to take any pictures of our delicious food..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing