We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great service!”
Review of Royal Taj

Royal Taj
Ranked #1 of 263 Restaurants in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was my first time trying Indian food and I not only loved the food, but the staff there is ever so friendly, starting with the owner himself. So people and food combine to make your experience exceptional. I recommend this place to anyone visiting the area :)

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marclaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    73
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delish!”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is the best Indian lunch buffet in Columbia, MD! They offer chicken tikka masala with all white meat cooked in a tasty sauce. Besides the regular Indian buffet offerings such as chicken curry and saag paneer, they offer a delicious tortilla-type wrap at the end of the buffet counter. It is some kind of curried potatoes and onions wrapped in a tortilla-type bread. It was delicious, albeit a bit greasy. Also, I would recommend that they bring fresh, warm naan to each table instead of having it sit on the buffet line where it gets cold and dull. All in all, everything else here is delicious. Great value for the amount and quality of food you get.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwikobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding food + a charismatic owner = perfection!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently had the best Indian food ever at Royal Taj. The entire experience was terrific thanks to the welcoming personality of the charming, hard-working owner. With all the hugs and handshakes he gave out, you could tell that everyone adored him and was thrilled to be there. He sets the tone for the professional and accommodating staff.

The papadum was distinctively good. The chicken tikka masala was incredible. My wife requested the medium spice level and was extremely happy with it. We can’t wait to go back and try the lunch buffet. You will not be disappointed. Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EC_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The best Indian Food”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had an excellent meal, food great quality and taste, our service was excellent and very attentative. We were visiting from outside the area, wish we were close to dine at Royal Taj regularly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dsbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I come from Britain, and have eaten at some of the many and varied Indian restaurants found there. To be honest, it has been challenging to find an Indian restaurant in Maryland that provides the type of authentic Indian food we enjoy. With our discovery of the Royal Taj, that has all changed.

The restaurant serves a wide variety of both southern and northern Indian dishes, including a wide vegetarian options. The food is normally prepared with a mild level of spice, but when you order, you can specify how spicy you want it; you can have anything from a really mild Korma to a fiery spiced Vindaloo.

The service level is excellent. The staff are attentive without being obtrusive, and seem to be able to remember all their previous customers.

This was my first visit; I shall definitely be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 33Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Taj also viewed

 

Been to Royal Taj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing