We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome burgers!”
Review of The Burger Joint

The Burger Joint
Ranked #78 of 263 Restaurants in Columbia
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The pros: the burgers, the toppings, the milkshakes, the fries, the asparagus, the veggie burger

Cons: their lobster roll (not enough lobster meat), the onion rings, the burger bread (just because it falls apart too easily), and that they don't have bigger straws for the thick milkshakes

Absolutely love this place. I feel like I get a better burger here then I do at Red Robin (which is near by).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 101FoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    25
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I like the variety of options that are beyond just the toppings. I dont like that the loyalty program is for burgers only which i discovered when getting breakfast from there

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Spectacularly Average...”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place had a bit of hype, so I was pretty excited to try it out. The results were... eh. I mean, the burger was fine. It wasn't disgusting, but it wasn't amazing. When one burger, an order of fries, and a soda cost you $15... you expect more than OK. I felt like I could have gone to Red Robin or Five Guys for the same food (but Five Guys is better!), but for less money. If you are in the area and really want a burger, you won't hate it... but again, for the money, I expect more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djstatick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Really good Burger”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The burgers here are really good with a number of pretopped options as well as some craft your own options. The lunch special is the way to go, hands down. All the sides are good as a number of my coworkers and I have tried everything: asparagus spears, sweet potato fries, fries, onion rings, and tots. If you go at peak lunch time there can be a bit of a wait for seating, but during nice weather you can sit outside. The milkshakes are pretty darn good as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“decent burgers in a nice shop”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very decent burgers (but the specialty toppings can be heavy). Some tasty looking sides, but fries were very heavy on the salt.

Not the cheapest burger around but good quality, cooked to order. We tried 2 of their specialties, the Wellington (a little too heavily topped with the mushroom sauce), and the southwestern. I liked the Southwestern a lot. Also had garlic fries, which were pleasingly heavy on the garlic (minced garlic abundantly apparent) but with far too much salt in the mix.

Nice interior space/colors, cool designs on the tables. An all-in-one soda fountain kiosk with a touch screen. Nice.

Worth a repeat, tho I'll just dress a plain burger next time, and skip the fries maybe in favor of a shake.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Burger Joint also viewed

 

Been to The Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing