We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Boone, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Quiet weekend location, close to restaurants. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was the typical Hampton Breakfast; not food not exactly great, but not terrible either. Better than paying for a breakfast somewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey E, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear E G,

Thank you for your 5-star review of our hotel! I am so glad you were able to enjoy your clean, comfortable room and our breakfast. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Columbia!

Kelsey E
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    94
    32
    11
    12
See reviews for
144
56
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Perfect location and great staff you will love this hotel. All of the amenities were excellent and the food was fantastic. The area was great as well, very secure and very quite. Parking was easy and access was fast. No issues with the room or any of the services

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey E, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Virginia M,

Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel and your stay with us! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We would love to have you back the next time you are in Columbia!

Kelsey Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

In my opinion limiting the guest use of the pool until 10:00 am is totally unsatisfactory. It was a real downer for my small kids on our family vacation. Change that policy and you will make families with kids happy.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey E, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Glenn W,

I am sorry to hear that you feel our pool policy is not family-friendly. We in fact enjoy having families at our hotel and love to see little ones play in our pool! We will have to re-assess our pool operating hours and see what we can do to improve overall guest experience for traveling families like yourselves. Thank you for your review; we hope you choose to return to our hotel in the future!

Kelsey Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

On august 8, 2014 my husband and I chose to stay here after our wedding ceremony. Of course when we arrived we were in wedding attire! Will and Joel were working the front desk and were amazing! They were very nice guys! They took the time to make us feel like we weren't just business! They even wrote us a little note that gave some excellent advice! This was one hotel I extremely enjoyed! The room was spacious and clean. I plan on returning here whenever we go see our family again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaTishaHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey E, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear LatishaHicks,

First of all, CONGRATULATIONS on your wedding!!! We are honored to have been your hotel of choice after your ceremony. Second, thank you for your positive review and comments on our hotel!! I am so glad that Will and Joel were able to express their "Hamptonality" to you and that you and your husband felt like you were more than just customers. I will definitely commend them on their excellent work, and we absolutely look forward to seeing you during your future stays with us!!!

Sincerely,
Kelsey Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Nice size room for my husband, daughter and her husband to stay overnight while we were on our way south. Two queen size beds and a nice big bathroom. Only problem was the breakfast foods ran out faster than they were replaced.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank rosemaryg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey E, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear rosemaryg26,

THANK YOU for your positive review of our hotel and your stay with us! I am so glad you were able to enjoy yourselves during your stay. I apologize that we had trouble keeping up with the demand during breakfast; this is definitely something we are working on improving in our hotel. If you are ever in the Columbia area again, we would love to have you and your family with us!!

Sincerely,
Kelsey Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We have stayed here twice now. It was close to what we were in town for each time. It is central to many locations. It was clean, the staff was very nice. We swam in the pool both stays. It was clean & nice. There wasn't enough towels after swimming but it was easy to grab an extra at the front desk. We ate breakfast there each time we stayed. It was good. We will most likely need to be in the area again for pleasure & non & will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey E, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Carrie H,

I'm excited to see that you enjoy our hotel, and enough to be confident to return to us in the future. Thank you for the positive comments and review--we look forward to your triumphant return!!! :)

Sincerely,
Kelsey Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of days while my husband conducted business nearby, then we were continuing on to NC. We checked in at night after a long drive. The hotel is in a great location, about 2 minutes from the highway but in a commercial/residential mixed use area which kept it very quiet. There are many restaurants and shops nearby. We were given a room on the ground floor close to a side entry door by the parking lot, which made it very easy to get our things in and out of the hotel. The other bonus was its location near the breakfast buffet and the pool. Very convenient, and surprisingly quiet. Even with a full seating area at breakfast, you could not hear any noise down the hall. The pool was located at the opposite end of the hall, and I could not smell any chlorine odor at all until we were just outside the door to the pool area.
The pool was small, but warm, inside a glass-walled room (on two sides.) There is no jacuzzi/hot tub. You have to use your key card to enter, and for some reason, mine didn't work. There were several attempts by the staff to get in (including the maintenance man), but after about 15 minutes, they finally accessed the pool area through an exterior door.
The room itself was nice. There is a good size refrigerator with a freezer section, a microwave oven, and a nice desk. The bathroom was large, but the granite countertop on the sink seemed higher and deeper than normal and was uncomfortable to stand at for even short tasks. The spigot in the sink seemed to have a leak, and there was a lot of water all over the counter, which was hard to see because of the dark granite. More than once I put something down on it only to get it wet. The Kleenex tissue box was in an odd location and took a few seconds to locate. Also, (my own pet peeve), there is only a passive vent system (no power switch or fan) which leads to massive fogging of the mirror after a shower.
The A/C fan was set on automatic, and whenever it came on, it sounded like a downpour on the window. It took a few times until I realized it was not raining outside. If you like white noise for sleeping, just turn the fan to "on" and you'll be all set.
The breakfast buffet was very good, as always. Great variety of items to choose from, and four different coffees, too. Later in the day there are chocolate chip cookies set out and they are very good!
Overall, very pleased with Hampton Inn; it's on our short list of preferred hotels when we travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIOBXLVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsey E, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear MIOBXLVR,

Thank you for your great comments on your stay with us in Columbia. We are so glad you were able to enjoy our hot breakfast, pool, and the chocolate chip cookies! ;) Additionally, thank you for the comments in regards to our short-comings in the hotel. I will definitely make sure we get the pool entry key issue taken care of, and the A/C noise. If you have any additional comments please feel free to contact me at columbiagm@ih-corp.com. Once again, THANK YOU and we hope to see you in the future!!!

Sincerely,
Kelsey Eaton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia

Property: Hampton Inn Columbia
Address: 8880 Columbia 100 Pkwy, Columbia, MD 21045-2136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Columbia
#3 Family Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing