We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Columbia
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a good hotel with one glaring problem and one breakdown in service.

First the good:
1. The room was small but comfortable. The bed was good but the pillow was so nice I almost wanted to take it home with me.
2. Maintenance and housekeeping ewas good.
3. AC ande heat is one of the older style beneath the window units but it wasn't so loud it kept you awake.

The not so good;
1. Breakfast was hot but it was most definately not one of the better breakfasts I have ever had in a Hampton. It made no pretense whatsoever of being anything other than scrambled eggs or gravy out of a can.
2. The room doors need something to keep them from slamming. There is virtually no seal and every time someone let one go as they exited a room the entire hallway heard it slam. Moreover, the lack of a seal means you hear everything going on in the hallways.
3. The last day we were there we left at 4 AM and the coffee was stone cold. The attendant took a while to come to the desk when I called out and it appeared he had been sound asleep. No monitoring of the desk is a security issue beyond the fact there was no fresh coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriscentralIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

We certainly appreciate you staying with us and it was just a priviledge to have you here. I am so glad you found the room comfortable and loved the pillows. I also wanted to let you know you can actually order those items through the Hampton Home Colleciton by calling 1-888-552-6442. I apologize the coffee was cold and that is not typical of our hotel as we make fresh coffee every four hours for the guest to enjoy. We all so much appreciate your feedback as this affords us the opprotunity to continually strive to provide the most ultimate service and best product available to our guests. We look forward to your return and welcoming you back to Hampton Inn Columbia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 489 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

This weeks travels included A Tale of Two Hampton Inns. The one in Nashville - well, it kind of sucked. This location, on the other hand, was most definitely above average.

Rooms: mine was very large, with a separate alcove for a king bed, a good sized work area (desk chair was terrible, tho) and a nice couch/loveseat for relaxing. My bathroom was also good sized with an enormous Jacuzzi style tub, though the jets and tub part had been disabled and it was really just a giant shower stall. Everything was clean and smelled fresh.

Amenities: free wifi (worked well), a postage stamp sized pool that is right off the lobby and viewable from the breakfast room so everyone can see you doing laps while eating their oatmeal, free breakfast and a workout room.

Staff: really friendly. The guys who checked us in upon a late arrival hooked us up with good recommendations for delivery and some free bottled waters.

Location: best for business travelers or those with a car. There isn't much within walking distance other than a Bob Evans and maybe a Chick-Fil-A. Easy access to the highway though.

Sleep Quality: Great! The air con was not overly noisy and despite being close to a highway I really didn't hear road noise.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and it was just our privilege to have you here at Hampton Columbia. We are all so delighted you found the hotel clean, quiet and friendly as we strive daily to make sure all of our guests feel at home and are provided with clean and comfortable accommodations so they can relax and enjoy their stay. Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon. We love having you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I travel solo quite a bit and this Hampton was easy to find, very clean and comfy. The room was spacious including a full length mirror and nice size bathroom.Staff was really nice and took good care of me. Hot breakfast items and fruits were a plus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

What a pleasure to have you choose our hotel and it was so nice to hear you found everything comfortable and pleasing. We strive everyday to make sure our guests have a wonderful stay and we all want to say Thank You and please come back and see us again soon. We so much appreciate you being here and allowing us the opportunity to be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights while visiting family. The hotel is well located for access to BWI, Baltimore and surrounding areas. The room had an efficient and quiet A/C. Breakfast was the usual Hampton Inn fare- I would like to see gluten free options, as well as soy or almond milk as alternatives to cow's milk. Brian at the front desk was friendly and helpful at check in. I plan to stay at this hotel in the future when visiting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthursioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and allowing us to be of service. It was certainly our pleasure and I am so thrilled to hear we were able to provide everything you needed. I am so glad you found everything quick and convenienct and the location here is just one of the best. Please come back and see us again soon and if there is anything we can ever assist you with, just let us know and it will be our pleasure to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Recently stayed while attending nearby triathlon event. We found nearby mall, restaurants, and of course the event park not far away. Hotel had everything we needed just wished we didn't leave at crack of dawn to miss breakfast. Desk staff on arrival very friendly, Ian ?

Room Tip: First floor for us was quick on convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

What a priviledge and a plesure to have you here and what great news to hear you enjoyed your stay. Out staff is always here to serve and we loved having here and hope to see you again the next time you choose to visit the Columbia area. Again, thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room and hotel itself were clean, neat and pleasant to stay in. We do not normally stay at Hampton Inns but due to a function we were attending and the rest of the part staying there as well we decided to go ahead. This was a great place. We were quite pleased.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank OppTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

What great news to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel staff very friendly. We always try to make our guests feel at home and we take pride in defining ourselves as the friendliest hotel around and one of the cleanest as well. We would love to have you back soon and if there is anything we can ever assist you with, just let us know and it would be our priviledge to accommodate you. Again, thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

it was good as expected the brand Hilton... and i found that the Manager Louis is very good and helpful for givign us the right directions for the weekends... and its really a good and nice stay during the trip and i will definately stay in the same hotel when i come back and recommend to company/friends about the same.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Paresh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

How nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and I am so delighted Louis was able to be of assistance with directions. We certainly appreciate you choosing us and it was simply our pleasure to be of service. We loved having you here and are all so so glad you will be coming back and recommending us to your company and friends. If there is anything we can ever do to assist you and enhance your stay with us when you return, just let us know and it will be our pleasure to do so. Again, thank you for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Columbia

Address: 8880 Columbia 100 Pkwy, Columbia, MD 21045-2136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Columbia
#2 Family Hotel in Columbia
#3 Business Hotel in Columbia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
Price Range: $79 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia Hotel Columbia
Columbia Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing