We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely outdoor pavillion”

Merriweather Post Pavilion
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Elkton, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely outdoor pavillion”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Loved the outdoor pavillion, but was very unhappy with the main gate. We arrived to the pavillion on our hotel shuttle, when we went through the gate we were ask to be search, which was fine. Then I was told I could not bring in my camera, which is a point and shoot, not professional. I told them I looked their website that mornging and it said as long as it was not a professional camera, which means if the lens come off, if was allowed. Now we are 2 miles away from our hotel and I have to find somewhere for my camera...finally after about 10 minutes we talk to Mary that work for Merriweather and she escorted us to the help counter which held my camera for me. Then we proceeds to our seats and were told we needed a braclets...back to the help counter!!! Finially get in and guess how many people I saw with cameras just like mine, about 20!!! A little ticked off..............

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cpsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    101
    35
    13
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
504 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Summer Concerts”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My family and I saw O.A.R. here last summer, but have been attending various concerts at this amphitheater for as long as I can remember. The lawn seating is spectacular, with spacious seating, large screens, and an overall great vibe. The pavilion seating is even more wonderful, shelters from the rain, and allows for even better acoustics. Forget lawn chairs if you're on the lawn, bring a durable blanket and a rain jacket. If you're behind the soundboard booth, the ushers are extremely accommodating and might be able to move you to better seats, which they did for us. Expect not the cleanest bathrooms at an outdoor event and expensive food and drinks. Make sure you park in the free parking across the street and not in the paid parking next to the pavilion. And forget about being drunk in the place, they are strict on removing belligerent attendees. As long as it has great performances, I will always be coming back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great vibes”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great lawn area. Perfect for picnic dinners before/during a show. Also, very good sheltered seating with great views (from just about any seat). Reasonably priced for those into the latest groups.Overall atmosphere of the grounds very inviting. Really deserves its rating as one of the top 5 outdoor venues..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Theodora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love this natural outdoor ampitheatre- no frills but cool vibe”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Thanks to Merriweather we've spent many a balmy summer evening sat on the reasonably priced lawn watching some great acts -Lumineers, New Order, Lady A, Def Leppard, Florence to name a few. If you want a close up view of stage & guaranteed shelter then obviously pay more for for seated area. Park for free at Columbia mall a short walk away to avoid concert car park queues.

We love the chilled out vibe of Merriweather- takes me back to summer festivals as a student. Yes, it's not plush - but layout cleverly combines the laid back outdoor festival feel with a much more intimate experience as it is a relatively small- medium sized venue. I'd much rather go to a concert at Merriweather than pay over priced tickets for Verizon where stage feels a million miles away.

Added bonus to Lawn tickets is it makes it very easy to meet up with larger groups of friends (rather than having to co-ordinate all buying tickets together to ensure you are sat next to one another). Naturally drinks are overpriced as with any concert venue but you can get free water. There are a fair amount of flush toilets for an outdoor venue, and yes, queues form and cleanliness declines as evening progresses- partic if it has been raining & muddy- but overall facilities are not bad for an outdoor venue.

Ultimately it is the music & concert feel that matters and that's where Merriweather scores top marks for my husband & I.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Chelt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lvk”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Small but very nice summer concert venue. Some big name bands perform here, but mostly the less popular bands. Lots of pavilion seating, but if you like to be under thestars, lawn seating is nice too. Food and beverages are sold.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank xether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merriweather Post Pavilion also viewed

 

Been to Merriweather Post Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing