We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very comfortable, very reasonable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta ES Suites Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, very reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel caters for long stay guests working for companies and also for shorter visits. I have frequented a number of times and it never fails to disappoint. A two bedroom suite has two en-suite bathrooms (at least ours did) and the living space was generous, with a pull out sofa bed too. The bed in the bedroom was huge and very comfy. Breakfast was extensive and available everyday, hot and cold food available and included in the room rate. Towels changed regularly and maid service everyday. Dinner three evenings a week is also included, is basic, but sufficient. The garden and pool area are fab with an outdoor grill for guest use. The gym is not huge, but has the essentials. I am aware some rooms are smoking-permitted, if this is what you require. Absolutely recommend this hotel, very happy with the stay and will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aspensamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    85
    31
    16
    17
See reviews for
97
57
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had reserved a queen studio and were upgraded to a two-bedroom suite. It was wonderful. The suite was very clean, comfortable and very attractively appointed. The hotel was quiet and the staff was very professional. Would very definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is in a great location for Columbia, MD. However, the furniture, carpet and beds need to be replaced due to just general wear and tear.
Nice size living room and kitchenette. The breakfast served each morning was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingtourist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

we had a wonderful stay here! loved the hotel, the staff couldn't have been nicer and breakfast was delicious!! it was a very convenient location to reach. when we checked in - fairly late on a saturday evening - the front desk staff was extremely friendly - very funny ladies covering the desk that evening! i would definitely recommend this hotel to others!! we didn't stay long, but throughly enjoyed our visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjm1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Sonesta ES Suites in Columbia MD after using Hotwire and got a rate under $100. I never heard of this place but it is a former Staybridge Suite Hotel. Room was clean, bed comfortable, shower worked great. Also the price included free hot breakfast which was good and free wifi Internet . Only gripe was older style tube TV, no flat screen in my room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevemjr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed here for several weeks recently. Some of the amenities were good (free laundry, fitness center, in-room kitchenette, complimentary USA today), but there were too many downsides of this hotel to consider staying again. Now for the down-sides:

Breakfast. There were a lot of choices, but most tasted bland and watered down, especially the eggs. Cheese slices were put out nearly daily, but they sat out in the open and looked like the same stale slices each day. There was the option of fresh waffles, but the batter made them bland and inedible. The only upside amongst the fresh items was the muffins and cinnamon rolls, but unfortunately I only saw the cinnamon rolls once in my three weeks.

Housekeeping. Usually we'd take the "do not disturb" sign off the door around 9am, but there were many days that no one came to clean the room. After about a week without the sheets being changed, it took a conversation with the housekeeper and two separate phone calls to the front desk to get the sheets changed. Far too much effort for a basic service.

Construction. There was construction and loud tour buses that lined up right outside our windows throughout our stay, waking us up some mornings by 7am. The hotel did nothing to inform us of the work, or try to minimize the disruption.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
679 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have been coming to this hotel for years but the change in ownership has not seen any recent upgrades. The only thing that I have seen is the painting of the exterior and one of the painters told me that the owners of this property told them not use up of the line good paint. I just hope that this doesn't apply when the new manaagement manage to do other upgrades as they need to be addressed. Other this the above stated concerns the place is great from their morning breakfast, hotel staff and fully equiped rooms for long term stays.

I would have given an excellent rating but from what one of the painters told me I have some concerns on the attitude of the new owners. Just hope they aren't trying to save a few penniees here and there thus effecting the good reputation of this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
11.3 mi away
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Columbia

Property: Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Address: 8844 Columbia 100 Parkway, Columbia, MD 21045-2135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#7 Business Hotel in Columbia
#7 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sonesta ES Suites Columbia near Baltimore is your home away from home. Conveniently located within the Washington, DC / Baltimore corridor, our all new Sonesta ES Suites Columbia is located within a residential area with easy access to Interstate I95 and I70 and Gateway Business Park home to several major business such as Johns Hopkins APL, Sun Microsystems, Magellan Health, MICROS, Sears Logistic, Peak Technologies, Corvis, SAIC, and Hitachi Data Systems. The hotel is convenient to Baltimore Orioles baseball, Baltimore Ravens football, FedEx Field home to the Washington Redskins, the Inner Harbor, historic Annapolis, the U.S. Naval Academy, Reginald F. Lewis Museum of African American History & Culture, Washington, DC, the Smithsonian Museums. The Sonesta ES Suites Columbia offers a choice of three spacious suite accommodations. Our guests enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet unwind at end of their day with our evening receptions Tuesday to Thursday. We are a pet friendly hotel. Pet fee applies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Baltimore Columbia Hotel Columbia
Staybridge Suites Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing