We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Mexican Food in an Unlikely Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Azul 17 - CLOSED

Azul 17
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
262 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food in an Unlikely Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Located in an unpretentious strip shopping mall, our expectations upon entry weren't particularly high. But the food was good and the service outstanding. I plan to go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    38
    18
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great tequila bar- we chose the prickly pear infusion. Bartender was very knowledgeable about the menu, service fast. Appeared to be kitchen guys bringing the food out. Tableside Guacamole was the best ever. Entrees were imaginative and similar to food we had while in Mexico City. I chose the flank steak- delicious and perfectly cooked. Served on a bed of very tender cactus. The side dish was extremely hot- I found myself gravitating to the blander parts of the meal to take the edge off. Rich and delicious flan for dessert

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lestermo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Still working out the kinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

It was 10 minutes after we were sat by the hostess that a server came to our table to tell us that another server would be right with us. After taking our drink order, drinks were another 10 minutes behind. So, 20+ minutes to get a bottled beer.

The guacamole was prepared table side and was good. The fish tacos were fair and fajitas were good. Overall the food was OK, the service just needs to speed up. They had lots of staff but everyone appeared as if they were in the weeds. Twice I saw two staff members break out into a run in the restaurant. Sorry to say, we probably won't be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank evilmosquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican, GREAT atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

From the Tequila bar to the ridiculously good guacomole made tableside, this is not anywhere close to your typical Mexican-American restaurant. The menu is innovative, and we have loved everything we've tried there. The Margaritas are teh best I've ever had, hands down. Clearly, this will be a regular stop for us. The only caveat I would put on this is that if you are going to bring your kids, they had better be open minded about new foods and not picky eaters.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DCLDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE Best margaritas in Maryland!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food is very good, but the true find is the bar. If you go there, order the golden margarita with Avion Reposado tequila, it will blow you away. And no, it ain't cheap! The care in which they prep each day for the drinks, well, it is something you must ask the bartenders about to hear the real deal. That alone is "sexy" and will make your mouth water.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank YaleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azul 17 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing