We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best tequilas and margaritas, great food, great atmosphere and quick polite service a must for Columbia!”
Review of Azul 17 - CLOSED

Azul 17
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best tequilas and margaritas, great food, great atmosphere and quick polite service a must for Columbia!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Went out over the holiday weekend and had a great experience. We have been before and they have steeped up their game. We had Red Snapper Ceviche it was sweet with blackberries and avocado and shrimp and snapper amazing combo! Had the seafood stew and a Caesar Salad with White Anchovy all was so fresh and tasty. The service was great fast and polite. We had the La Bamba Margarita and if you love Tequilla and Margaritas then you gotta go here and treat yourself!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    38
    18
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joppa, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best Mexican Food and Tequila's”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Started to go to another Mexican restaurant until I read the reviews. Decided on Azul and was one of the best decisions made to eat out. I was driving and my wife had a coconut mango tequila that was not only visually inviting; but, delicious (she said). The food was fresh and tasty and will be a frequent visit for me, but I won't drive the next time!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank timamu2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
“Wife and I night out - average food good drinks very expensive!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Monday night had a short wait for a table. Fair service and good drinks expensive - poor to average food and expensive! We had to ask our waitress for chips and salsa - she didn't seem to want to bother. The waiters at the other tables were mixing salsa for their tables different taste.
Our waitress could not care less and said they only had mild and hot - charged us extra for a tiny
sample of hot salsa! Wife had a fish dish liked the taste. I had steak fajitas I would not feed my dog very hard tuff meat could not chew! Better fajitas at the various Mexican Chain's! I enjoyed the Mexican Draft Beer and a special house drink! Great atmosphere and nice bar area, but this is not New York you pay first for atmosphere and food is second. The Hostess - Manager was very nice and friendly!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Try all the guacamole varieties! They obviously put a lot into the food and selections. Huge variety of margaritas. Dancing!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank StreamsAndCities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican in Columbia”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Azul 17 is truly a very good Mexican restaurant. The margaritas are superb and exactly what they are supposed to be;Tequila, Fresh squeezed lime juice and Agave nectar. No sour mix or other processed ingredients. The list of margaritas is huge and many use house-infused tequila with infusions like lemon, apple and my favorite, Serrano chili. The guacamole is prepared table side as everyone has noted and it is impeccably fresh and tasty and can be prepared to your level of hotness.The food is always fresh and the entrees are varied and unusual. Certainly a step above your typical Mexican restaurant. The only downside is that Azul is somewhat pricey. But take into consideration it's in Columbia, combined with the fact that everything is prepared in-house and the prices are not unexpected. The restaurant constantly participates in Groupon and Living Social, and the way Azul handles those coupon deals is unique. Their coupons always offer a 50% discount on "Dinner". (usually $20 for $40 off dinner) However, Azul considers your drinks to be part of dinner. So with very little effort you can eat and drink there for half price most of the time. They do not take reservations on weekends, so if you arrive after 6:30 p.m. expect a wait. Spend your wait time in the bar, sample the awesome margaritas and enjoy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fishboy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azul 17 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing