We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Overnight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbia
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Guilford, CT
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Overnight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed overnight weekend of 4/14/12, very clean hotel, room was great, two queen beds with a sofabed. also included workstation, frig, microwave, two sinks, seperate tub and tolet, so one of us could use the bathroom, while someone else took a shower. The people at the front desk were friendly and the breakfast was great. Will definately write this hotel down for our next trip down south.

Room Tip: Ask for a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yolel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    86
    27
    9
    9
See reviews for
100
45
11
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed here in March for kids soccer tournament. Great hotel for families. The hotel is very comfortable, good size rooms, feels new. The staff were very friendly and tried to help with everything we needed. In the past I also stayed there for business and had a very good experience. Very good value, all that you need for a causal visit to the Columbia area. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJMGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The hotel is comfortable and their decor is clean, modern looking and in fairly new condition. However, the front desk personnel acted like rookies who are not interested in being at work much less in assisting customers. I stayed at the hotel with a group of individuals for a conference.

One guest was told, after their stay, that their credit card was charged for at a full rate instead of a room block rate even though the hotel personnel quoted and confirmed a room block rate over the phone at the time the room reservation was made. The hotel refused to correct the charges.

Another guest in the group had difficulty with the front desk because the person who recorded their reservation did not spell their last name correctly. Instead of trying to assist the person in finding the room reservation (ie checking the credit card number with the card present, looking at first names of the day's arrivals...etc.) they demanded that the customer pay at a full rate instead of the block rate. The customer was great making suggestions on how to resolve the situation while being met with an insistence, at every turn by the front desk person, that the customer pay full rate. The situation was almost comical to watch if it was not so frustrating. It seemed as though the customer had more training on customer service than the front desk personnel.

If you need to make a reservation at this hotel, make sure to have them send you an e-mail or written document stating your stay itinerary, rate and reservation number. Be sure to bring it with you and continue to call them until they send you one. Do not let them make reservation promises over the phone without written confirmation. You may be surprised by changes in room charges upon your arrival.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncheng01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoryCartwright, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We have researched some of your comments and would certainly entertain the opportunity to discuss them with you further. I have tried to contact you via your email address but your email has been returned. The group that you were part of was actually part of 2 separate contracted room blocks with different rates dependent upon when the reservations were booked. These rates were confirmed with your group leader. We appreciate all feedback as we strive to learn and excel in customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Contemporary hotel. Love the huge shower. Never understood why hotels have tubs. Very clean and quiet. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheelchix80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Pretty clean hotel, nice rooms for the price. I like the contemporary style and room layout, not your typical hotel room style. Separate toilet room and shower room with heavy sliding doors are good. The gigantic curtain in the lobby is kinda weird. High quality toilet paper too - hey, this is a high value touch worth noting!

Room Tip: I usually opt for the top floors for the view and no one overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jett_Set
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoryCartwright, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We will definately forward your comments to the Marriott design teams. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I just stayed here for a night as part of a block of rooms for a wedding. The decor was very modern (not quite my style, but still nice). The lobby was spacious, and had lots of room to gather with friends. The hotel was clean, the rooms spacious, check-in quick and easy. The included breakfast was great - not only the usual breads and waffles and cereal, but also oatmeal, eggs, and plenty of coffee and juice. Staff was always making sure there was enough of everything. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Only problem was with the GPS telling us to turn left to get there, when it was a right turn - check a map before trusting your GPS.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights while in training nearby. This was a beautiful hotel. The room was clean, very nice layout. Internet access was free and fast, breakfast was excellent and the snacks in the evening were good.

Lobby is very bright and modern looking. Nice setup at night with a table that lights up. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Only 2 minor points I would like to see.

1. The toliet room (seprate from the bathroom) has a sink in it to wash your hands. But no towel ring or bar. That would be perfect in that small space.

2. The shower and sink room is very nice,with the tiered mirror being amazing. Nice touch. But they use shower stalls, which always leak onto the floor. You can use a towel to catch the spills, but I wish the design of the stall did not do that.

Overall a great hotel! If back in that area we will stay there again.

Room Tip: They all seemed nice. Only one elevator area so close to the middle saves walking - further away is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_Gillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
4.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia

Property: SpringHill Suites Columbia
Address: 7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046-1907
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#2 Business Hotel in Columbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#5 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbia is located south of Baltimore, north of Washington DC and 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our spacious, stylish suites include luxurious bedding, microwave, mini-fridge, large desk, complimentary high speed Internet, and flat screen TV. Additional amenities include free parking, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness center and indoor pool. Enjoy quick access to Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium, Maryland Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Baltimore National Aquarium, Fort Meade and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing