We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The worst nightmare” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Columbia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Columbia
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Columbia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst nightmare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

The hotel was chosen due to the proximity to the new location of 2011 Baltimore half-marathon race. The hotel is new, and looks like a converted former office building or a prison, but the interior designer leaves much to be desired. SO it looks like it looks. The furniture is the cheapest kind you can get, the room layout is unpractical. No sauna or steam room. The minuscule token gym is combined with the bath tub pool. The staff was unfriendly. The hotel has a non-smoking policy. They also refused to deal with smoking the next door. The staff admitted that there was smoking happening somewhere, but did nothing to fix the problem. The lobby and our room was full of smoke all night, even with fully opened windows. We were not moved to another room. The breakfast was served too late for runners to take advantage of, so the hotel was profiteering. The star rating was exaggerated, it hardly deserves 2 stars. DId anyone from the management ever tried to watch TV from any spot in the room without twisting their neck off completely. And those 60's formica colors and patterns all over! Never again we are staying there! One night too many! Still waiting for the response to my complaint to Marriott. And I am a member!

Room Tip: Just do not stay there. Full stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nickie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Dear Nickie 2011,

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Springhill Suites Columbia. Our hotel is quite unusual with a very modern and trendy interior design. Some of our features including the dual bathrooms, transitional living/work space and brightly colored lobby decor is very different than the more traditonal hotel experience.

All Marriott hotels have a non smoking policy. Unfortunately we do occasionally have guests that violate the policy and make other people's stay uncomofortable. It is unfortunate when it happens but I assure that we do everything that we can to address and remedy the situation.

Thank you for your comments. I assure you this experience is not typical and I hope it does not deter you from continuing to use Springhill Suites by Marriott for your lodging needs.

Thank you,

Johnetta Jordan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    93
    29
    9
    9
See reviews for
104
48
12
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

A decent suite - colleagues were turned off by the modern decor, but I appreciated it. The furniture and appointments are definitely "IKEA chic."

Front desk staff was extremely helpful upon check in, patiently providing multiple options and ensuring my comfort. Room was spacious, with more than adequate work surface areas and outlets, and reasonable wifi. Bed was average for comfort; housekeeping was invisible but did their work (a great compliment).

Unfortunately, even though our group was block-billed to our corporation, a hold was placed against my credit card for "incidentals." The amount of that hold was $530 - an astronomical figure for a credit card hold that does not include room rates. When I discovered this and called the property, they handled it wonderfully, apologizing for what they described as their mistake and calling my credit card company to resolve it sooner, rather than just wait for the hold to lapse. I truly appreciate that.

However, looking at the other reviews here, it seems that there are multiple mistakes made at the front desk, and that's just not acceptable at a property that is trying to cater to business travelers; we need to not spend time on sorting out errors.

Overall, a nice and clean property near to major roads but quiet for sleeping - we'll hope that they can tighten things up at the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danhedonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, RI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

Stayed here for one night in a double queen room. Large room, great sheets. One bathroom with a toilet and sink, and a separate one with a sink and shower, which was very nice. Helpful front desk. Buffet breakfast was fine, except for the revolting scrambled eggs, but hey. Beautiful lobby. Glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
175 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

We stopped over for one night drving down south and we found this hotel to be a great place to stay overnight. From the outside, it does look like it's still under construction for some reason but the inside was great. The room was spacious and comfortable. Has free internet and breakfast. Had a great night sleep, so I'd definitely stay again in my travels.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T.B.Patriot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

Booked a block of rooms at the Springhill for a Wedding. This hotel is fresh/clean and in a great location. That said, the service at the front desk is the worst I've experienced in years of traveling. They lost our reservation, gave us hard time about making a new reservation at the desk upon arrival, charged a 'no - show' fee for the reservation they lost, and then had an attitude when I called asking for an explanation.

This hotel could be great if they sorted out their serious lack of hospitality and organization. Sorry to say this place left a bad taste in our mouth.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrownedCapitol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear CrownedCapitol,

I apologize if you received less than courteous service during your stay. It is our goal to provide each guest with a warm and hospitable experience. I will ensure that the staff is made aware of your comments and uses your suggestions to improve the service that is provided. I appreicate your input and hope that you will return to the Springhill Suites Columbia in the near future.

Best regards,

Johnetta Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

Beautiful hotel, very modern. Design is very attractive. Rooms were lovely, nice beds. Staff was nice, internet access was easy, indoor pool was a little too cold for my kids (ages 6 &13), complimentary breakfast was good & including eggs and breakfast meat. Hotel's surroundings had an "under construction" feel, but the hotel itself made up for that. Would definately stay again. *The pool is salt water.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samsmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Hi Samsmom3,

Thank you for your kind and encouraging words. I am happy that you and your children enjoyed your stay at the Springhill Suites Columbia. We try our best to be family friendly by providing amenities like free breakfast and an heated indoor pool. I hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Columbia.

Thank you again for your comments.

Johnetta Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

This is a 5 star hotel!! Hotel is beautiful & not just in the lobby, room was just as great! Staff was very friendly & helpful, above & beyond!! We have already book a room to stay again, HIGHLY RECOMENDED!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndvamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Columbia, responded to this review, April 20, 2011
Dear ndvamp,

Wow, what a great review. I am so pleased that you had a great time at the Springhill Suites Columbia. I hope that you will come back soon and bring lots of your friends and family too. I will share your input with my staff so that they can see what excellent service means to a 5 Star guest. Please feel free to stop by the front desk to say hi, so I can thank you in person for your awesome comments.

Thank you,

Johnetta Jordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbia / South
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbia
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia
Hampton Inn Columbia
#4 of 12 in Columbia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Columbia Town Center Hotel
4.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Columbia

Property: SpringHill Suites Columbia
Address: 7055 Minstrel Way, Columbia, MD 21046
Location: United States > Maryland > Columbia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Columbia
#2 Business Hotel in Columbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Columbia
#5 Family Hotel in Columbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites Columbia is located south of Baltimore, north of Washington DC and 15 miles from Baltimore Washington International Airport (BWI). Our spacious, stylish suites include plush bedding, microwave, mini-fridge, large desk, complimentary high speed Internet, and a flat screen TV. Additional amenities include free parking, complimentary hot breakfast, a fitness center and the indoor pool. Enjoy quick access to Camden Yards, M&T Bank Stadium, Maryland Zoo, Maryland Science Center, Baltimore National Aquarium, Fort Meade and Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Columbia Hotel Columbia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing